Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
4.424 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (203 reviews)
5 stars
144
4 stars
33
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
11
Customer Reviews for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Review 1 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
OTC--Off The Chain foundation!!!!
Date:February 4, 2013
Tags: Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable
So I've used Studio Fix, Studio Sculp and Pro Longwear foundations and I've got to say this one blew the rest of them out of the water!!!! I have a super oily nose, chin, and forehead. I'm talking I could keep an oil company in business if they ran out of oil. Some of the other foundations made claims that they were long-wearing, water based, blah-blah-blah. But this one, whoa!! It says it's demi-matte, but it's matte although not dry looking. I first apply an oil control spray from a different company, then while my face is still wet I apply MAC's strobe liquid (and it dries pretty quick) and then my oil free face primer. I then take a 130 face brush (yes I know it's small but it does the job) and buff it into my skin. I'm a full coverage type of girl so I apply a second layer, but it doesn't feel cakey, or like I have a ton of product on. It feels so light. I then set it with MAC's MSF Natural by getting a small velour puff and patting it on my face rather than buffing it in with a brush so I won't disturb my work, lol. Hope this helps if you're on the fence about this foundation. Just jump on over and get it. It's truly long wearing, natural looking, and doesnt' start slipping or budge and I don't have to powder my nose until late in the day. I apply the foundation at 5:30 am and don't have to blot until about 1 pm.
+93points
95of 97found this review helpful.
ndnmakeuplvr
Location: Kansas City, MO
Review 2 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
just right
Date:February 4, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Buildable, medium coverage
I am a NW45 in studio fix and wanted to change to something different. Studio fix had always been a little cakey on me. I went to the Mac website and did the tutorial and saw what was suggested for me and matchmaster came up. I went to the MAC store the next day and the Mac artist paired me with 8.0 on 1 side of my face and 8.5 on the other. I went outside to see how it looked in the light once it was applied and the 8.0 was a perfect match. As i sat down and watch the artist put the peach corrector under my eyes. I noticed that the matchmaster was doing its magic, matching to my skin. It seems as time went on it blended better with time. Needless to say i walked out of there with the matchmaster 8.0, peach corrector and mineral finish in dark deep. When i went to work the next day I looked like Hollywood, Hollywood swingin'. LOL . HELLO MATCHMASTER.
+69points
71of 73found this review helpful.
mocha
Review 3 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I FINALLY FOUND IT!!!
Date:March 14, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, combo/oily skin
The perfect foundation! Can my quest really be over? Back in the day I used to use Studio Fix and the mineralize powder but it broke me out leaving me heartbroken because it looked so good but using it just gave me more things to cover. I was told at the time that if Studio Fix broke me out I was probably out of luck with finding a different MAC foundation that would work for me. So I said goodbye to MAC.
Now here we are almost 10 years later and still I have been looking for the perfect foundation. I decided to give MAC another try because of all the new formulas and BOY am I glad I did! Matchmaster looks AWESOME on me! Seriously, awesome! My search is over for now. I even added some to my kit because I work with client's with similar skin as mine so I hope this will work just as beautifully on them.
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
rosanab1031
Location: Corona, CA
Review 4 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My Holy Grail Foundation
Date:January 10, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Oil control, Buildable, all day wear, great comfortable coverage, Natural looking
I have never had such perfect looking skin. I use this with the beauty blender and use MAC's Mineralize Skinfinish Natural powder to mattify and set. I have very light skin (shade 1.0), oily & sensitive - this product stays, covers, and looks extremely natural. The bottle lasts for months (I order every 3-4 months) and always goes on very evenly. If you're considering this, go for it.
+23points
23of 23found this review helpful.
KatieLovesMac
Location: Seattle, WA
Review 5 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Does a decent job
Date:May 26, 2014
Tags: Oil control, Buildable, light/medium yellow undertone
It pretty much does everything it claims that's why I gave it Four starts. It is a mixer of NC and NW. So if you are in the middle of NC and NW then this is a perfect option. It does blur fine lines and gives you even finish look. I'm not personally much of a fan of this product because I am a typical NC. I have really golden/yellowish undertone. That is why I am limited to few foundation brands. The plus point is, it has slightly more product and obviously high quality.
If you have strong resemblance of Yellow or golden in your skin, you might have to work your way out to make this product work, it makes skin more reddish brown due to its NW.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
SanBen
Location: California
Review 6 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The Best Foundation I've Ever Used
Date:April 9, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable
If you have oily skin, you will LOVE this foundation!!! I have been searching high and low for that perfect foundation and this truly is the best! I have used drugstore brands, Studio Fix fluid, Mineralize Foundation, and Pro Longwear. This blows all of those out of the water. I never have to worry about what it looks like at the end of the day, and rarely ever have to freshen up. Does not settle in any lines. This stays put and controls my oily face. That being said, you will need a makeup remover.
I use an oil control moisturizer then set it with both the blotting powder and a setting powder. I am in the shade 2 right now and it matches my skin perfectly. That was another issue I ran into with the other foundations, that is, I could never find my perfect shade.
This foundation can be lighter or heavier depending on how you apply it. For a heavier application I use my stippling brush, and for a lighter application, I use a flat top kabuki and buff it in.
I hope this foundation never goes away because I am SOLD!
+27points
30of 33found this review helpful.
BLish
Location: Loveland, CO
Review 7 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Wonderful Product!
Date:April 17, 2012
Tags: Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable, every day wear, natural look
I have oily/combination skin and I try to use products that decreases the oiliness I tend to get in the T-zone area. I usually use NC45 and C7 in Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation Powder and for liquid I use the Face and Body Foundation in C6 and C7 to get my exact skin match. I've been hearing so much raves about the MatchMaster Foundation so I decided to give it a try. I used the 6 and it look like my exact skintone when I apply it to my face but when I took pics I notice it to be a slight bit lighter even though I blend it out really good..so I purchase the 7 and when I mix the both, it gave me a flawless natural finish and the PERFECT match. It is very light feeling on the skin and not drying at all...it's also buildable. It holds up at least 7 hrs for me without me having to do any major touch ups. I usually set it with my Mineralize Skin Finish Natural or my Prep and Prime Transparent Finishing Powder. I've been getting a lot more compliments since using this product and it does give a veryyyy natural look and it doesn't feel as though you're wearing anything at all on the face!! So this has been my go to product since I got it and the fact that it has SPF 15 is an added bonus...I will be stocking up on it as well. Already introduced it to some of my girlfriends as well. Great job MAC*****
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
TriniSpiCeT
Location: New York
Review 8 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My absolute favorite
Date:June 24, 2013
Tags: Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable, coverage
I've tried a lot of MAC foundation over the years. My skin type is combination/ oily. I've been using studio fix fluid for years now. I tried pro longwear recently but felt it was too thick and dried so fast that I had a hard time blending it well. It's suppose to last all day and it does but it wasn't for me. The matchmaster I wanted to try after reading the description online. It's amazing. My shade in studio fix fluid is NC 42 and I use the matchmaster in the shade 5. It's amazing for oily or combination skin and oil control. It's a thicker consistency than studio fix fluid but it can be blended easily. It also seems to give better coverage than the studio fix fluid. I'm in love with this foundation. On days that I use my studio fix fluid I'm disappointed with how my foundation looks at the end of the day. I use the 187 brush to apply the foundation, another good brush would be the 109 and maybe the 130 since it's similar to the 187. The 187 is a favorite of mine for all liquid foundations.
+15points
17of 19found this review helpful.
TheMACaddict
Location: california
Review 9 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
amazzzzing!
Date:November 7, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Buildable, fair skin buildable coverage smooth finish
I am sooooo happy with this product!!! I have VERY fair skin where sometimes even NW15 can be a shade too dark for me. I dont really require heavy coverage and I used to work at sephora so believe me, I have tried everything. In the past I have used the Select foundation(which doesnt exist anymore) and the Face and Body, which is nice to give you that dewy look but it COVERS NOTHING!!! I was excited to try the Matchmaster because of the fact that it wasnt cool or warm it was more neutral and seemed that it would actually be light enough and it was everything I wanted it to be and more! I applied it with my finger and then used my 187 brush to stipple and buff it into my skin....it blended soooo smoothly and can be built up to provide more coverage where you need it. The finish was so smooth and soft and I found myself needing LESS powder because I loved the finish sooo much. I also got the Studio Finish concealer and applied that under the eyes with the 217 brush.... THANK YOU MAC! I FINALLY FOUND THE HOLY GRAIL COMBINATION THAT WORKS BEST FOR ME!!!!!!!
+14points
15of 16found this review helpful.
LindsayA
Location: NYC
Review 10 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Best Liquid for me so far
Date:March 20, 2012
Tags: Oil control
A month ago, I decided to go on a quest to find my "ultimate foundation." I had been using a mineral powder foundation but decided I wanted something with more coverage. I decided to go with this because I liked the idea of a foundation blending into your own skin, especially since a lot of make-up out there makes my Asian skin look too pinkish or orange. I was doubtful, but I was pleasantly surprised! The shade technology seemed to work for me.
This was the first liquid foundation I tried, then I tried ProLongwear, then StudioFix, and I should have stuck with this all along. I won't say it gives me flawless coverage because I've unfortunately never had that in a foundation. I have oily, acne-prone skin with scarring and this does a good job of evening out my skin tone without getting too cakey. I do feel it blends well into my skin without making me look made up and seems to last my whole work day if I blot 1-2 times on a warm day. It takes a bit of time to settle into the skin, but looks good afterward.
I found this didn't sit as well on the dry patches on my skin, so those with dry skin may want to beware. Through trial and error in the winter, I realized if I mixed it with moisturizer that solved the problem. I would recommend this.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Snoopy
Review 11 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Matchmaster Foundation = beautiful!
Date:July 9, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Buildable
I would have to rate the Matchmaster Foundation a 4 out of 5 as it relates to my normal go-to foundation, the Studio Fix Fluid. I am an NC 35 in the Studio Fix and am a 3.0 in the Matchmaster. I have found that the Matchmaster truly does match your skin..but it does not offer the porcelain doll like coverage that I can achieve with the Studio Fix fluid. I have only had the Matchmaster one week and like it enough not to return it, but when it runs out, I am going to go back to my Studio Fix in NC 35. Overall, I would say if I did not have acne scars and my occasional pimple here or there, the Matchmaster would be for me because it has a great, natural looking coverage that is indeed buildable. But if you want that completely flawless look where every single thing you want covered disappears, go with the Studio Fix fluid.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Sheena456
Review 12 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best!!!!!
Date:June 21, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, oil/shine control
I recently switched from my Studio Fix NC43 to Matchmaster 6 and I'm more than happy with the result. I have a combination skin / oily T-Zone and this foundation works much, much better than the Studio fix; it controls my shine/oily areas. It looks natural and it matches my skin perfectly. It has a medium coverage, which I love. It's a good option for someone who's looking for a foundation made for oily skin.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
ypmay0323
Location: California
Review 13 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
one of the best foundation ever
Date:September 24, 2011
Tags: face, flawless beautiful skin, wedding
I love this foundation. I went to my local mac store here in baltimore,md. i saw one of the artist using the this foundation on a client and i was like WOW, she looks amazing. It was like whatever her flaws were they were gone.The client looked as if she woke up with skin so flawless and beautiful. So i said to myself "finally this is everything plus more", the most important thing i would like to mention is to let the mac artist match you because its not like any of there other foundations.example: normally i am nw45 or nc 50. but in this foundation i am 7.5. I've tried the 8.0 but i felt like it was too red for my liking.This foundation actually brings out your undertones, so if you want more golden undertones to be brought out then try 7.5 and if you want more redder undertones then go with 8.0(only if your nw45- sorry i am unable to tell you about any other complexions/undertones, that's why its important to have the artist match you perfectly). The foundation is lightweight, so it really feels like you have nothing on. It feels like the same weight of the face & body foundation but with a different coverage. The face & body foundation is a little more lighter in weight(hope that makes since). so i went home and put my face on...lol. and when i stepped out people were like wow you have amazing skin, not your makeup looks great, "but that i have amazing skin". I was like "yes" and thank you. I set my foundation with a powder and its so flawless i even grabbed my camera to take a picture and i was amazed myself. I looked soft and beautiful. I think this foundation will be awesome for weddings. So all in all i think that this is a great buy. Plus all of the other foundations are 30ml and this foundation is 35ml. so you get more. oh yeah one more thing you you may only need 1 to 1.5 pumps that just depends on the coverage you want. but i give this too thumbs up..thank you mac, thank you.
9
+21points
23of 25found this review helpful.
Desi
Location: maryland
Review 14 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Where Have You Been All My Life!!!!
Date:April 21, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, mature skin
I was looking for a foundation to give me great coverage and reduce the oil in my skin, I came across this foundation on You-tube by a former Mac Makeup Artist. This foundation exceeded my expectation it is so light weight that you don't look like your wearing any makeup at all. My foundation color is usually NC50 the Makeup Artist paired me with 8.0 which was to red for me so I got the 7.5 for now and the 8.0 for the summer when my skin is more tanned. I could also get away with using the 7.0 it blended so well with my neck which is lighter than my face a perfect match for the first time since I've been wearing foundation. Mac you have outdone yourselves.... this is an amazing product. Heidi Owens . Atlanta
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
whopper
Location: Atlanta Georgia
Review 15 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazed
Date:April 27, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control
I have very oily skin and i wore this foundation for over 12 hours and it still looked good. I didn't want to take it off. I didn't have to touch up my skin. I was practically matte all day; even in the warm humid climate i live in. Best foundation I have ever used.
+15points
17of 19found this review helpful.
Sheashay
Location: Nassau, Bahamas
Review 16 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
An Amazing foundation
Date:June 27, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable
I have tried many different foundations, both high end and drugstore. But either they don't stay on very long (generally about 6 hours with primer, 4-5 without) or they look thick, cakey, and unnatural. But after reading many really positive reviews of the Matchmaster, I really wanted to try it. . I tried the MAC Pro Longwear, but it only stayed on my face about 6 hours, even with primer. I read that the Matchmaster is excellent for people with oily skin. Finding the right shade was a bit of an adventure. I have very oily medium skin with cool understones. I tried the MAC chat and was asked what celebrity my skintone is similar to. I panicked and didn't know what to say. So I did some research and discovered the Scarlett Johannson and Jodie Foster have similar coloring to mine. I was recommended Shade 2.0 But shortly after that, I realized my current foundation was too light. So I decided to just go to the MAC counter and get matched. As soon as looked at the testers, I realized 2.0 would be too light. I told the girl I thought I would need either 3.0 or 4.0 She said she thought 4.0 would be too dark. So we tried 3.0 out first. It was too light. Next, she tried the 5.0, which was just a little too dark. So we tried the 4.0 and it was a perfect match. So I got a sample of that one. I've been disappointed so many times before with foundation, so I didn't really think this would be any different. But boy, was I wrong. This is the only foundation I have ever used that doesn't break apart and disappear. It kept me shine-free and matte all day. I would apply it in the morning and it stayed on until I removed it before bed. It didn't feel heavy or greasy at all. In fact, unless you look in a mirror, you forget you have it on. It is very lightweight and very blendable. I have quite a bit of redness and small bumps on my face, because of a genetic disease, and this covers it all. It gives me a natural, flawless look. This foundation doesn't look like you are wearing a ton of makeup. The first day I wore this, I kept checking my face in the mirror, expecting to see it had started to disappear, but it never did. I truly hope this foundation is never changed or discontinued. It is my HG foundation. I intend to purchase a full-sized bottle the first chance I get. I also like that you get 35 ml rather than the typical 30. I highly recommend this foundation to gals with oily skin.
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Lms526
Location: WI
Review 17 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
great for evening out skin tone
Date:July 1, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Buildable, combination skin
This foundation is great if you dont have a lot of blemishes. It has alot of pigment so you dont have to use a ton but it evens out skin tone in a semi lightweight formula. I have some hyperpigmentation and a pimple here and there and this covers them nicely. It doesnt creep or wear off in warm weather. Other foundations were looking mask-like on my "changing" skin..this one covers but looks natural.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
ninny
Location: WA
Review 18 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Love it!
Date:August 5, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, anyone especially those that are extremely pale
I've been looking for a good quality, long wearing good coverage foundation and I found it! I have problems finding the right shade because I'm so pale(I wear this in the lightest shade and even have a little bit of play room if I get darker), so when I went to my MAC counter I was ecstatic when the guy put this on and it matched perfectly. He even said that he could hardly tell that he was putting it on me!
Now, the long wearing aspect has astounded me. I work at an Olive Garden in West Texas and our air conditioning is out. We get really busy and all my other foundations are gone after 2 hours, I was very pleased to find that this looked exactly like when I first put it on at 6 that morning when I took it off at 10 that night. I didn't use anything to prime it or set it either.
I also have a very spotty and oily skintone with mild acne. I was pleased to find this covered it well and seemed to keep my oil level under control. Its very buildable and I use it as my concealer before I put it on as my foundation.
All in all I am extremely pleased with my purchase of this product and will be coming back to MAC for everything
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
dollbaby2241
Location: Midland TX
Review 19 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Absolutely Amazing!!!!!
Date:September 19, 2011
Tags: everyone
This foundation is the greatest Mac creation! I have searched for years to find my perfect foundation match due to my uneven skin tone. This product is nothing short of a miracle. It blends in perfectly, no transfer onto my clothing and looks as though I have nothing on. I am happy with my purchase and will be using this along with my other Mac products for life.
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Chinadoll2000
Location: Illinois
Review 20 for Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Matchmaster I'M HOOKED
Date:February 1, 2012
Tags: Buildable, Long wearing, Moisturizing, Oil control, all skin types...combo/oily
First time user, and let me tell you, I took advantage of the Live Chat to find a shade and we hit it on the first try. I received my order, used it and SIMPLY transformed my face. I have combo/oily/mature skin (49) and this is the best foundation any woman would want. It blended so well, and keep my oiliness at bay all day. Looked in the mirror hours later and looked just as good as the morning when I applied it. I also purchased the compact oil absorber for touch-ups, but I didn't even need to use it. My skin is smooth, and gorgeous. I will be a buyer for life. I use the No. 3 which I thought I'd be, and Lauren on the Chat suggested this color too, without me telling her. Got it right the first time, so glad I don't have to return it. I gave it five stars ***** (rating was not working)
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Annemarie
Location: Indiana
1-20 of 203 reviews