Product Reviews

MAC Pro Longwear Lip Pencil

Average Customer Rating:
3.893 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Review 1 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Love this product!!
Date:September 4, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color
I've been reading some of the reviews and realize that the problem users are having is one that I had until I asked a MAC person to help me. The outside of this pencil is a plastic...not wood. It will not sharpen correctly in a regular pencil sharpener. I bought one of the special MAC sharpeners and voila!! It now works perfectly. I'd give this a 5 star if only I'd been told that when I bought it. Really...MAC should advise this whenever the pro pencil is purchased...either online or in person!!!!
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
patnbreck
Location: Colorado
Review 2 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
PRO LONG, &Im never going back!
Date:November 30, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, lip sticks
I will never go back to the normal lip liners. This pro longwear is amazing that i can even wear it to fill in my lips and put on a thin layer of the lip stick on top. But it wont smug or move once its on, the best part is I can eat and drink and not have to reapply over and over again!
+20points
20of 20found this review helpful.
LipstickLinette
Location: San Diego, CA
Review 3 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Not worth the money
Date:June 18, 2014
I've been an avid Mac user for nearly five years now, and have never been disappointed by a product until now. I bought this in early May because they were out of Whirl at the store I was at. It crumbles nearly every time I use it and is a pain in the butt to sharpen, and it's nearly gone already. The pencil is way too soft and not worth it at all. I would not recommend the pro longwear lip pencils to anyone, you're better off with the regular lip pencils.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
ofmermaid
Location: Las Vegas
Review 4 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Date:September 2, 2013
Tags: Non - feathering, Defining, long lasting
I have used M.A.C. lip pencils for many years and have never been disappointed till now. Decided to try the Pro Longwear line. Purchased the color Etcetera...... Love the color, BUT the pencil itself is way too soft. I absolutely hate trying to sharpen it. I have only had it a week and it is almost gone. Every time I go to sharpen it it breaks. Will be returning it.
+21points
25of 29found this review helpful.
jake19
Location: nj
Review 5 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Disappointing
Date:August 13, 2012
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color
I love the old formula pencils, but thought I would try this new version. Although it glides on smoothly, it is so soft that I have to sharpen it after only 2 uses. This is causing the pencil to wear down very quickly. It is already more expensive and shorter than the original pencils, so not a good value at all.
+27points
29of 31found this review helpful.
Bruin
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Review 6 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AMAZING!!!!
Date:October 8, 2011
Tags: everyday wear, when you want/need a lip liner to stay for a very, can even be used without lipstick/lipgloss, beautiful colors
I went to my local MAC counter to check these out because I didn't believe that these would work. I bought "Staunchly Stylish" because I wanted one that would match my lip color and be able to be used with most lip colors as my "neutral". I had sampled a bunch on my hand to find the right one before actually applying to my lips and for me this color was PERFECT. It was super creamy compared to others I've tried and was sold when I tried to wipe off off the swatches on my hand and I couldn't! I had to get makeup remover and it still gave me a fight to come off. So as soon as I purchased it I immediately put it on and layered it with some gloss. Even with eating and drinking (the gloss came and went) but this lip liner was there until I took off all my makeup that night. I am going to purchase/stock up on these in case this is a limited edition item--I CANNOT be without this!!! If you are on the fence jump off and BUY THIS!! You won't be sorry!!! :)
To MAC: PLEASE KEEP THESE AS REGULAR ITEMS AND EXPAND COLORS! THESE ARE AMAZING AND ARE DEFINITELY NEEDING TO BE IN A PERMANENT COLLECTION!
+19points
22of 25found this review helpful.
Diana25
Location: Florida
Review 7 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great color, poor product
Date:February 28, 2013
I've purchased MAC's regular lip pencils for years and hoped this long wear one would be even better but it's not nearly as good. I'm returning this and ordering the regular ones again. The color is great, but it's softer than the regular pencils, and smaller, and more expensive. Not a good value. It also does not make as crisp of a line on my lips so my lips are less defined than when I use the regular pencils. And it actually doesn't seem to stay on any better than the regular pencils. I'm just disappointed all around with this product. But still a very happy MAC customer otherwise!
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
MamaTo9
Location: Washington
Review 8 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Not a Fan
Date:September 4, 2013
Disappointed in how it felt and color. Love the lipsticks more.
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Vee914
Location: Hastings, NY
Review 9 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Perfect for someone else, not for me.
Date:May 27, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, lips
I was trying to find a shad that was close enough to my natural lip color, but this wasn't it. Little long wearing, still came off on a cup though.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Guessgrl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Review 10 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love!!!
Date:August 25, 2013
Tags: long lasting lip color
I purchased a couple of these pencils for when I do my bridal clients. I love them! They are so creamy going on and they last really well! Just watch out if you are eating anything that is oily/greasy because then it will come off. Other than that you can eat and drink and it stays put! My favorite color so far is Staunchly Stylish. It is a tiny bit darker than my natural lip color and I feel like I can wear it with anything! Will definitely be purchasing more. I do wish they came in a more variety of shades though. Hint hint :)
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
hairdesignsbyandreab
Location: Washington
Review 11 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Kiss me Quick
Date:May 15, 2013
Tags: Non - feathering, Bold Color
I purchased this great liner in Kiss me Quick- a versatile, red that goes with several of my amazing red lipstick shades like Mac Red and Ruby Woo. This liner stayed put, helped my lipstick adhere well, and wasn't all over my glass-or my husband ;)
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
FoxyMama
Location: San Jose, California
Review 12 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
2 Uses and You're Done?
Date:January 20, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, people with lots of money to waste
This pencil is wonderful in how it wears, but I've used it only twice & it's almost gone. The tip is not wood, so not sharpen-able, No apparent place to advance lead, unless I'm a lot denser than I think...so...2 uses and I'm done? I don't think I'll be buying this again, even if I do like the product.
0points
4of 8found this review helpful.
CindyinPhoenix
Location: Phoenix AZ
Review 13 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
longwear is the only way to go.
Date:January 6, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, Non - feathering, Defining, lip color
I really can't see buying anything but longwear lip pencil. I use the longwear pencil along with the prep and prime before and after the pencil; I'm pleased with the result. I wish all the colors were in longwear.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Locar
Location: Hawaii
Review 14 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great liner
Date:February 12, 2014
Tags: Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color
Almost $20 for a liner...worth it!! This is a versatile color!
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Kimberdancer
Location: TN
Review 15 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best MAC Liner
Date:October 15, 2011
Tags: Defining, everyday use as well as special occasions
I purchased this prolong wear in Electrka and it went on very nicely on my lips. i love this liner bc you can wear it alone or with a lipstick or just with some gloss on top. It stayed on for many hours even through me eating drinking, whatever. I would definately tell anyone interested in this product to BUY IT!!!! well worth the money whether you get it at discount price or regular price.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
PriscillaDazzle
Review 16 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
pro longwear lip pencil
Date:September 28, 2011
Great long-lasting liner just like it says! I have one, but have 2 more ordered because I fell in love with this product!!! I've used many, many different ones over the years & have decided this has to be the best at not feathering/smearing.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
JSRob
Location: Kansas
Review 17 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Dried and would not line
Date:February 27, 2013
Tags: l
I bought several of these thinking they will be great and long lasting.. The other day as I am using one of these on the person sitting on my chair, I realized it is doing nothing.. I tried to swipe it on my hand and realized it may have dried as it is doing nothing.. I sharpened it and again nothing.. I think I wasted my money. I hope the others will not have the same fate, even though I put the cap back after using them. It's not like I have left them open to dry..
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
kalipaus2
Location: VA
Review 18 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
THESE R THE TRUTH!!!
Date:October 4, 2011
Tags: all day wear
These liners are THE TRUTH!!! I love love love them! They stay on for a good 6 hrs and go on creamy with a good covrage. I will personally buy all of them for my kit..I have a few of them already and i an very pleased.. A must buy..
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
maccynthia
Location: San Antonio Tx
Review 19 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent product
Date:June 24, 2013
Tags: Non - feathering
Lasts and lasts! I love how easy it goes on and stays.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Muse
Review 20 for Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Good conditioner, requires many reapplications.
Date:March 13, 2012
Tags: dried lips
liner goes on like wet chalk consistancy, then hard to blend when u put a gloss over it to the point of when blending its hard keep it between your lips and skin. doesn't stay put when trying to blend. throughout the day i found i needed many reapplications.
However it is conditioning for dry lips and wont give u an irritated lip look.
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
J3marti5
Location: Clinton Twp
1-20 of 28 reviews