Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed

Average Customer Rating:
4.415 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
8
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Review 1 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
EXCEPTIONALLY Natural!
Date:May 26, 2014
Tags: no make-up natural yet flawless look.
For those of you who want to look natural and have a no make-up look, THIS is the powder for you. Not only does it provide a long wearing, natural look, it also truly enhances your natural beauty by minimizing pores, lines, imperfections and other little annoyances we notice on our skin. I have been using MAC for many years and love all of their products but this one is the first to actually prompt me to write a review. It's just amazing!
+17points
17of 17found this review helpful.
Loralee
Location: Newport News, VA
Review 2 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Feels like silk
Date:March 28, 2014
Tags: everyone any skin type day night anytime.
This powder is beyond amazing. Really. First of all I can't even see it on my brush. Can't see it on my face except it leaves my face looking like it has been misted with powdered silk. Seriously. It doesn't make your face look white and it doesn't settle in lines. I bought it because I came onto the website shopping for foundation and chose the Studio Fix Fluid, and the reviews talked about how great it was with the finishing powder over it. So true! This is the best my face/skin has looked in years. I recommend you buy a good brush to apply this. Not because it is required, but because it works so much better with a nice one.
+32points
33of 34found this review helpful.
Lelly
Location: Oregon
Review 3 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
honestly amazing
Date:December 5, 2013
Tags: t-zone shine, matte even look
This product is amazing. I have a normally oily t-zone and even after primer then make up application it still shows up. I purchased this product after reading some reviews. my skin tone is dark and i was a bit unsure if this would work for me but tired it anyway. Its just amazing. It took away the shine and gave that nice matte look i was dying for in my t-zone. another mind blowing product from mac.
+65points
65of 65found this review helpful.
violetqueen
Location: Cheektowaga ny
Review 4 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing
Date:December 15, 2013
This stuff is amazing. I have oily skin, so when I wear makeup it usually only lasts about an hour or 2 before it gets oily and gross. This stuff makes it last for the entire day without smearing.
+63points
65of 67found this review helpful.
Jasminemsanchez
Location: California
Review 5 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Works for Darker Skin
Date:February 3, 2013
It took me a while to warm up to this product but now I love it and it's a regular part of my makeup regime. I am NC50/NW45 and initially thought the product would look ashy on my skin. Although it looks white in the pan it does apply clear. You just might need to give it a second to let it absorb oil to finish it's transition to clear. A little Fix+ spray will help it along to make it perfect and give you a nice soft satin finish. Great for oil absorbtion. My only recommendation is to try to wait a few seconds until your foundation dries to apply it so the powder remains clean and white in the compact case throughout its use.
+77points
78of 79found this review helpful.
Leuqer
Location: Chicago
Review 6 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
The Real Deal
Date:October 7, 2012
Tags: olily skin
I am African American with very oily skin. The great ladies at the MAC store recommended this product. It is amazing! I only have to touch up my face once a day. Don't become put off by the product being white. It is translucent and adapts to your skin tone.
+41points
43of 45found this review helpful.
Goldie85
Location: Olathe KS
Review 7 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
woooowwww
Date:February 15, 2014
Tags: finish makeup flawless
this stuff is da bomb! i put it on last after my primer foundation powder routine. let mee tell uuu. dat make up dnt go nowhere it makes ur face almost waterproof. i tear up a lot in general throughout da day and my concealer never smudges, 5 star product. im kind of dark ebony complexion and it goes on flawless, not ashy or white. . im a nc55. thx mac cosmetics!!
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
zuzulewis
Location: queens new york
Review 8 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
LOVE!
Date:May 23, 2014
Tags: oily skin
Love! love! love!!!! this product is amazing. I have oily skin and this powder helps maintain my face matte throughout the day. I use it with my studio fixed fluid and i have no other words for it other than I LOVE it ! Definitely recommend it to people with oily skin.
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
darma
Review 9 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Product
Date:August 18, 2011
Tags: portability
Sets your makeup perfectly. Great for Touch ups throughout the day. I have oily skin and the blot powder doesn't seem to work for me. I tried this and so far I am pleased. I still tend to get shiny throughout the day but not as much. Glad MAC decided to make this product in a pressed.
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Glennette
Location: Redford Twp MI
Review 10 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
WHOA!
Date:March 13, 2012
Tags: a natural simple look., multi-uses., if u don't want to deal with color-matching issues
If u go natural or need an inner glow with no sparkle and glitz; its so simple to use.
I Love this product. I was given a sample, didn't have very much, it made my face glow! Used with water sprayed on my face and powder sprinkled on my large beauty brush. I blended and blended adding water at times- it filled in lines, pores and made my skin smooth and like a 12 year old who got her first sun tan and is glowing. It lasted for about 8 hours but didn't look bad when it was wearing off. Any acne on my face was simply softened and did not make it worse. I don't tan or go out in the sun I have dull skin to be honest. i was pleasently surprized by the natural and versitality of this product.
I also use this as a eye-shadow after i apply concealer to my lids on my el-natural days.
Wonderful product. Job well done MAC
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
J3marti5
Location: Clinton Twp
Review 11 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perfect for all skin types
Date:January 30, 2012
Tags: finishing/setting a complete face, absorbing oils and helping with shin, minimizes lines and creases under the eyes
I work for MAC and I recommend this product for all skin types. If anything I would recommend it more so for oily skin because it helps absorb the oils in your face. I would say use charged water or fix+ to set if you think you look a little powdery.
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Brittny
Location: Texas
Review 12 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Multipurpose
Date:December 11, 2012
Tags: Oil control, setting, matte finish
This powder is great for setting foundation and oil control. I often use it towards the afternoon what my nose starts to get shiny because of my super oily Asian skin. It is a great alternative to applying extra layers of powder which, eventually, looked caked on at night.
The only reason I give this product 4 out of 5 stars is the fact that it does not last long. If I don't use it sparingly then I have to buy a new one at the end of the month. If you want to use this professionally then you are better off getting set powder.
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Kerby
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Review 13 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Disappointing
Date:June 12, 2014
Tags: nothing
I ordered this after reading all the positive reviews. I was really disapointed with this product. It only reduces the shine when you first apply it, after 10-15 min the shine is back. It does absolutely nothing for minimizing lines or imperfections. Will not order again.
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
SHARRON
Review 14 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I was hoping for this product..
Date:September 7, 2011
Tags: oil control touch ups
Thank you Mac!! already wrote a review on the Prep +prime loose powder and how much I love it and wishing a compact was available.I can't wait to purchase this.I always used blot powder for oily touch-ups but after using this powder(loose)I stopped with the blot because it did give a slight color to my skin.This is perfect,just a tiny amount and it controls oil for hours..now it's portable..yay!
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
sharee
Location: Long Island,NY
Review 15 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Love It!
Date:January 31, 2012
Tags: Oil control
Just purchased this product yesterday, had a makeup meltdown. I was using the blot powder which didn't do much for my oily skin. This product has more than proven itself, only touched up 3 times today opposed to every hr with the blot powder. This is a wonderful product. Repeat buy for me!!
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Roward
Location: Maryland
Review 16 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LOVE IT
Date:November 23, 2011
Tags: oily skin, dark toned skin, good for taking pics
I PICKED UP THIS PRODUCT TWO DAYS AGO AND IM LOVING IT VERY MUCH. IT'S BETTER THEN THE MAKE UP FOR EVER LOOSE HD POWER (TO ME ) AND I HAVE OILY SKIN ALL SO AND IT'S PERFECT FOR ME LOVE IT LOVE IT ANOTHER GREAT PRODUCT FROM MAC THE BEST
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
SPARKLE
Location: MESQUITE , TEXAS
Review 17 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Best compact EVER
Date:July 19, 2014
Tags: setting my makeup
I love this powder. I have used the loose powder version of Prep and Prime daily for the last 2 years and purchased the compact for travel. It sets my makeup so well, my skin looks flawless from 7 AM till I take it off which is around 9:30 PM.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
PDJordan
Location: Killeen, TX
Review 18 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Better in old loose form
Date:January 20, 2012
I loved this finishing powder when it was loose in a jar. Kept my face from getting too oily. This new pressed format does the same job, but it's harder to get enough on my brush, and now the powder has started cracking and coming out of the pan in chunks. Pretty much the only good thing about the pressed version is better portability. Bring back the loose version!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
charmcitygal
Review 19 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great product
Date:March 21, 2014
This is one of the best finishing powder. I have oily skin and by end of the day my eyes would look dark because of the eyeliner, and with this product it drys my skin.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
MiMi123
Location: Bowie, Maryland
Review 20 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder/Pressed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Wonderful powder!
Date:October 3, 2014
Tags: setting makeup, priming face before foundation
I've been using this for the past three years and it is AWESOME!! I don't want to try any other product because this one is absolutely phenomenal. I'm an NC45 and this powder just disappears into my skin. In the summer, I use it before and after I apply my foundation (I have very oily skin). This helps my makeup last longer in the humid NYC summer heat. I will reapply it if I'm out and have gotten VERY oily/sweaty. But I usually blot with tissue or oil blotting sheets first before I think to reapply. On a couple occasions when I first started using it, I reapplied it more than twice and I saw it on my skin. So, as long as you don't get carried away with reapplying it, it is awesome! Definitely a must-have in my makeup collection!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
TrayB
Location: NYC
1-20 of 53 reviews