Product Reviews

MAC 138 Tapered Face Brush

Average Customer Rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for 138 Tapered Face Brush
Review 1 for 138 Tapered Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing!!!
Date:October 6, 2013
Tags: All over application, Blending
I bought this brush to use with the Studio Fix foundation and I love it. It is soft and gentle. It grabs the powder and allows me to build coverage where I need it. The brush also gives me a natural, blended look. My mom is a harsh critic and she loved my makeup using this brush.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Farasue
Location: NoVA
Review 2 for 138 Tapered Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Versatile
Date:October 25, 2010
Tags: Blending, Contouring, Highlighting
This is one of my favorite brushes. It works beautifully for powder under the eyes, to contour the hollows of the cheek and around the face, for highlighting, and for blush. The narrow point makes this brush good for precise application; if you want a broader sweep, you press down more on the brush. It's a very versatile item.
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
BeautyBrains
Review 3 for 138 Tapered Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My favorite brush!
Date:October 7, 2014
What better than a brush you can use for precise applicaton of countour, highlighting, and an all over powder brush?! Fluffy, dense, and luxurious and hardly sheds. I have a few of these!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
JustMarkie
Review 4 for 138 Tapered Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Tapered Face Brush
Date:February 19, 2014
Got this brush at the end of January in your Times Sq. Store, New York. Big fan of MAC products, and have never had a problem, until this brush, it's now coming to the end of Feb, and the majority of the bristles are left all over my face after I use it. For the price of it, and since I have never had a problem with MAC before I thought it would be a super investment, completely disappointed and expected so much more.
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
StephMc77
Location: Ireland
Review 5 for 138 Tapered Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Nice, but big
Date:November 11, 2013
Tags: Contouring, Highlighting
This is an excellent shape for multiple things like right under the eyes (and even into the corner), contouring and setting body paint when using hard lines. This would make an excellent detail brush if there was a smaller version (such as the size of a 224 brush but same shape). If you agree, you can go with a Wayne Goss #3.
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Enoch
Location: Albuquerque
Review 6 for 138 Tapered Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perfection!!!!!
Date:April 3, 2012
Tags: Blending, Contouring, All over application, Highlighting
I got this brush a few weeks ago and I don't know what I did without it. It's pricey but well worth the investment. I use it for contouring, which is great, it blends it seamlessly! And I use it to powder my face. It gets under the eyes with ease to set my concealer and around my nose and face and it is SOOOOO SOFT to boot!!! I have even used it to add highlight on my cheekbones!!I love this brush!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
MarilynGnz
Location: South Carolina
Review 7 for 138 Tapered Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:July 9, 2012
Tags: Contouring
Super soft brush that is great for applying soft contours to the face and bronzers
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Daniel89
Location: Long island, ny
Review 8 for 138 Tapered Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
amazing brush
Date:May 23, 2011
Tags: Contouring, All over application, Highlighting, Blending
This brush is so versatile. I use it to contour and highlight as well as to apply blush and bronzer. Its super soft and picks up the colors very well. Its pricey but you can do so much with this brush. Its almost endless.
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
MNGU
Location: USA
Review 9 for 138 Tapered Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Doesn't do what it claims to do...
Date:August 29, 2010
For sculpting the face (adding darker shading to areas of the face so that light recedes) and adding highlight (adding lighter shading to areas of the face so that light is reflected), try the 130 brush instead or any other brush with a flat top and sturdy/rigid bristles. This brush is not dense enough to apply blush to the cheeks nor is it broad enough at the top to apply powder to the face.
-6points
5of 16found this review helpful.
banhbaocheeks
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Review 10 for 138 Tapered Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
First MAC brush..never again
Date:July 31, 2012
I heard a fair number of good reviews on the MAC brushes. When I bought it and cleaned it, I noticed a fair number of loose bristles falling off. When I used it, I had to pick of the hairs off my face. I was Shocked and it cost me $40. I will not be investing my hard earn money on MAC brushes for sure.
-7points
0of 7found this review helpful.
biggal
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Review 11 for 138 Tapered Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Beautiful brush
Date:April 14, 2011
Tags: Contouring, All over application, Highlighting, Blending, powder blush highlighter scuplting
I love it.. very versatile. A little pricey but worth it.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
kalipaus2
Location: VA