Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Lip Erase

Average Customer Rating:
4.192 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews for Lip Erase
Review 1 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love it
Date:December 23, 2013
When I got this I wasn't wearing it to have nude colored lips. I got this so that I got make my lips a blank slate before putting on lipstick. I have dark skin with red undertones so if I were to just wear lip erase I would look crazy. But I love it because it allows me to wear whatever shade of lipstick I want without the natural tone of my lips coming through.
+62points
63of 64found this review helpful.
keepitbrite
Review 2 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Dark lips, fair skin.
Date:June 27, 2014
Tags: color erase, lip foundation, Non-Drying
This product is just what I needed to pair under my fairer lipsticks and glosses.
The problem I was having was that my lips were too dark for the pink lipsticks I enjoy. In order to get the shade I was hoping, I'd have to apply 5-6 layers of lipstick just to cover my natural lip color (dark mauve-y/purple), and when you are wearing that much product it's easy to tell that it is just caked on unnaturally.
I ordered the fairer of the two shades and it was just about a perfect match for my skin tone (I haven't tried their foundation yet, so I don't have number for you to compare). It accomplished exactly what I was hoping for! It gave me a much fairer foundation for the light lipsticks, making the pinks look utterly effortless (have not tried it under a dark lipstick, don't really see the point there).
About the product:
Color: as stated above, the color was perfect for me.
Moisturizing: It didn't leave my lips feeling dry or chalky.
Texture: the product in the tub is really, really hard. Kinda difficult to apply with anything other than your finger. I prefer to use a brush for anything with color, just because I don't like the color transfer on my fingertips, NOT enough of a complaint to keep me from using the product though. When applied with my fingertip, the color goes on really fast. It almost reminded me of using a powder in the way the color deposited.
Smell: doesn't smell like anything. Literally just, like, nothing.
My process: apply balm first (keeps the pigment from sinking into any creases or cracks in your lip), blot on with fingertip. Let it dry. Touch up with desired lipstick.
Last minute advice: if you choose to try using this product, learn how to "sculpt/shade" with your lipsticks for a more natural look. This does it's job well and makes upper and lower lip utterly the same color, if used unwisely it can create a flat dimensionless color.
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Forest
Location: Northern California
Review 3 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Product
Date:February 12, 2013
Tags: Color true
Just saw this used in a master class for the first time last Sunday. I can honestly say that it is the best product I have seen thus far to nude out lips. The only con is that there isn't a shade for the darker skin tones...and by darker, I don't mean tan.
+102points
110of 118found this review helpful.
Kyee
Location: Louisville, KY
Review 4 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Lip Erase
Date:December 2, 2012
I notice you only have the Lip Erase for light to medium tones what about deep and deep dark tones?
+129points
143of 157found this review helpful.
Mazda
Location: GA
Review 5 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AMAZING! amazzinng
Date:March 7, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, Long wearing, nude lip conditioner lip primer
Every woman should have this! Let me first start out by saying that almost every "lip conditioner" dries my lips, but this makes them soft! Also, this makes an awesome primer for all lipsticks! A little goes a lonngg way, soo just put a little on your lips right before applying the rest of your makeup so you'll have a nice muted primed canvas lip for your lipstick.
BTW, I get a lot of compliments when I wear just a LITTLE of this out on its own as a nice "nude lipstick."
+24points
24of 24found this review helpful.
pandita
Location: chicago
Review 6 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Question
Date:August 5, 2013
I'm an NW 45 so the color selection is disappointing. MAC could stand to have a couple of more darker tones available. If I were to wear this alone or under lipgloss it would be too light. Also, it doesn't mention whether the product is water proof or not. In the past I would prime my lips with a concealer all for it to mix in with and change the color of the lipstick I was wearing.
+54points
64of 74found this review helpful.
Msnichole206
Location: Federal Way, WA
Review 7 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Pleasantly Surprised
Date:November 8, 2010
Tags: Creamy, Long wearing, a base under lipstick or just a nude lip color.
Ive tried EVERYTHING to make my lips paler.. cream concealers, concealer sticks, pressed powder concealer... All of them felt heavy on my lips. They also made my lips dry and formed an ugly white line on the inside of my lips.
This, however, feels light on the lips and has more of a creamy balm texture. It didnt dry out my lips at ALL.. And lasted all day! It looks natural enough to wear alone. Its also good under lipstick.
+24points
25of 26found this review helpful.
BeccaXO
Location: New Jersey
Review 8 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
blank canvas
Date:June 12, 2014
Tags: Creamy, Color true, prep and prime lips, lips
Bought this to create a blank canvas so that whatever shade lipstick I chose would be true to color. I've been happy with this product it goes on slightly moist almost like a lip balm and it's not drying.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
MACLA
Location: Rancho Palos Verdes
Review 9 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
LOVE IT !!
Date:February 23, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, Color true, Long wearing
This product is awesome! No matter what color lip gloss I wear (clear,nude, tans, pinks) my lips always look the same shade of pink on me UNTIL this. I love just wearing it with clear on top makes a great nude lip and lasts for hours without having to reapply. Very happy with this.
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
HappyGirl
Location: NY
Review 10 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Dewy, Creamy, Looks Good!!
Date:July 16, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Creamy, Color true
I was very skeptical, I decided to try it. Honestly, I am very happy with how good this looks! Dewy, creamy. Easily wear this lip cream at work, outdoors, I was not disappointed. Nice feel, did not dry my lips out, although I use a moisturizer before applying. Oh yea, when the product describes itself as it will "erase", it really doesn't make you lipless. It instead gives a POSH look, that you see in hign end fashion magazines. I hightly recommend this lip product. It is not a bold product, I love it and I am a MAC fan.
+10points
12of 14found this review helpful.
YaYaGirl
Location: Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis
Review 11 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great product
Date:October 13, 2010
Tags: Long wearing, every day
I've seen poor reviews of this on MUA, but I love it. I have both shades. It does a great job of neutralizing my lips and providing a good base. I have NOT found it to be drying at all, and is hugely superior to using concealer for this purpose.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Cheryl
Location: Texas
Review 12 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Love, love, love!!!
Date:May 5, 2014
Tags: Creamy, Color true, Long wearing, nude lip, wipe away highly-pigmented lip colour
I originally bought lip erase to take away the pigment in my lips and have my lipstick show it's true colour. When I got it however, I was eager to try it right away so I applied it over lipgloss that I already had on. After a while I looked in the mirror and my lips were a light, soft pink-nude (a look I've been wanting to achieve for quite some time!) I have very light, pink-toned skin and this compliments that on its own very nicely. Lip erase also keeps my lipstick it's true colour and keeps my lips moisturized even with lipstick that tends to dry them out. Overall I'm very impressed! A must have for every makeup bag!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Sparktsk
Location: Newfoundland
Review 13 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
It really works !!
Date:January 27, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Creamy, lipstick
At fries i was a bit skeptical about the product I have herd both good and bad about the lip erase by MAC but form my experience with this product it works pretty well. Made my lips a bit dry but the product dose work well.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Chelly
Location: Silver Spring Md
Review 14 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Color: Pale
Date:February 20, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Color true, anytime use, nude lips, bringing out true color of other glosses etc.
This product completely wipes out my highly pigmented lips and I couldn't be happier with it. I have always wanted to be able to wear different colored lipsticks, glosses, etc, that do not end up looking the same because my natural lip is so red. I have never found a product that worked as well as this. A little bit goes a very long way and I find I only have to apply the product about twice a day (at work), unless I am going out for the evening. It has real staying power. It goes on my lips smoothly, too. I would suggest exfoliating your lips (if that's not part of your regimen), because it does show each flaw in your lips. Once gloss (I use Tinted LipGlass in Cultured) is applied over it, it looks beautiful and smooth. In my opinion, this was money well spent.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
EZanow918
Location: Newport News, VA
Review 15 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
True Color Greatness
Date:April 2, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Color true
This was an awesome purchase for me and I would gladly buy again. I have pigmented lips and it was hard for me to turn up a true color with the pinks and nudes I have purchased. This was excellent and made me like my products much better. It was amazingly not drying although you would think so upon initial contact.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
JamPoet
Location: Atlanta
Review 16 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
A Little Goes A Long Way
Date:March 13, 2013
Tags: Creamy
I love using this to tone down my red lipstick and this is good in erasing my lips and a little goes a long way like a dot would cover my entire lips.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
naynee
Location: California
Review 17 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Lip Erase
Date:July 10, 2013
Tags: Long wearing
The lip erase does a good job of taking away any discoloration on the lips to have an easy canvas to work on, however, it leaves the lips very dry and it is pretty hard to spread over the lips.
+5points
8of 11found this review helpful.
Torie
Location: Georgia
Review 18 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Dim
Date:April 20, 2014
Tags: Creamy
I like this product, it's not what I reach for everyday but I tend to use it with lighter colors than with dark ones. With darker lipsticks I notice it brightens them a bit and that's ok, if that's what I'm going for but what I want most of the time is a true color which is the purpose of this lip erase. I do like it, it's smooth, it's moisturizing, works great with sheer colors. I do recommend it but not for all shades.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
chelseaesparza
Location: California
Review 19 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Lip Erase
Date:April 20, 2011
Tags: Color true, making lips look natural
Have been looking for something like this forever! Do not like Red Red lips and even without lipstick my lips are red looking. This product is great. I wear it alone or as a base for very nude lipstick or lip glass.
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Rory
Location: Ohio
Review 20 for Lip Erase
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
lip earse pale
Date:January 28, 2014
Tags: pale faces
To light and comes off to easily. Not good for tan skin tone. Very dry
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Donata
Location: chicago,IL
1-20 of 26 reviews