Product Reviews

MAC Shaping Powder Pro Palette

Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Shaping Powder Pro Palette
Review 1 for Shaping Powder Pro Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Emphasize!!
Date:November 6, 2013
Tags: setting concealer under eyes
I use this as a setting powder under my eyes. Go in first with pro long wear concealer, blend with a beauty blender and use this to set the look. Just the perfect amount of matte with a touch of highlight pigment. Light enough that it will not settle in your creases.
+23points
26of 29found this review helpful.
dragonfly
Location: Canada
Review 2 for Shaping Powder Pro Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Works for Darker Complexions
Date:February 2, 2013
Tags: Natural looking, soft highlight
I am a NW43/45 and was in search of a subtle highlighter suitable for darker complexions. I purchased this product at the MAC Pro Store. These work quite well in Warm light and Soft Focus without looking ashy on darker skin. They are an excellent daytime professional look and I would definitely buy them again. However, my all time favorite is still Mineralize Skin Finish in Gold Deposit for that wow factor. FYI, the complementing Sculpting Powders did not work for me at all. They were completely muddy or nonexistent on my skin tone. The MAC rep recommended one of the new Studio Fix + Foundation Powder in NW58 for sculpting instead and I absolutely love the combined look.
+26points
27of 28found this review helpful.
Leuqer
Location: Chicago
Review 3 for Shaping Powder Pro Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Emphasize
Date:April 20, 2014
Tags: highlight
Let's just say it's worth the hype, if you're not experiencing the same results you're hearing about try using a different brush, I use a dense angled brush it fits perfectly under the eye area where you want the most highlight, trust me you'll love it!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
chelseaesparza
Location: California
Review 4 for Shaping Powder Pro Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Finishing touch...
Date:August 30, 2010
Tags: Natural looking, Non-Drying
As the second-to-last step (the last being applying Sculpting Powder) in creating the everyday or glamorous makeup look, Shaping Powder can be used to highlight areas of the face such as the (top of the) cheek bone, bridge of the nose, middle of the forehead, and chin to reflect light and create a natural "glow." Its lightweight formula makes it easy to apply and add to build the effect. Use with a blush or flat-topped duo fiber brush.
+24points
24of 24found this review helpful.
banhbaocheeks
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Review 5 for Shaping Powder Pro Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
shaping powder-EMPHASIZE
Date:December 20, 2012
Tags: Non-Drying, Natural looking, bringing out eye area with softness and diffused l, Highlighting
This powder is one of my holy grail items...it accentuates your eye area, and together with the structure powder, you get a gorgeous defined, soft look....I am absolutely addicted to this powder...I make a triangle area from corner of eye down to mid nose and up...softly blend...beautiful...cannot make up my face without it...MAC, please do not discontinue this! No other powder of its kind comes close to this one
+17points
19of 21found this review helpful.
willow
Location: Minnesota
Review 6 for Shaping Powder Pro Palette
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Doesn't last long
Date:June 17, 2014
Tags: Natural looking, Highlighting, darker skin tones
I bought this to go along side my Shadowy Sculpting Powder that I use for contouring (and I LOVE it), but I was slightly disappointed by this one. I had hoped that being nearly white it would show up more on my skin (NC15), but it didn't do much for me. It does bring a little bit of a glow-y sheen, and on darker skin tones it would probably be much more noticeable. On light skin tones it doesn't last long, it's hard enough to get it to be noticeable from the get go anyway! You're better off buying a cream highlighter or something with a lot more shimmer if you're light skinned like me, but I would still highly recommend the Sculpting Powder in Shadowy!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Ariabacon
Location: Ireland
Review 7 for Shaping Powder Pro Palette
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:April 17, 2014
I got this in Accentuate, and I didn't have any noticeable results using it. Maybe it's because I am so fair skinned, it's possible the lighter shade would have been better on me? It did feel nice going on to my skin and did not break me out.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
VeraLynn
Location: New Jersey
Review 8 for Shaping Powder Pro Palette
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Emphasize
Date:May 5, 2014
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Non-Drying, Highlighting
I really like this product for highlighting purposes! I tried to use this to set my under eye concealer & didnt really like it. Not a big fan of shimmer under the eye area. Just a personal preference.
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Jayjaybooboo
Location: Idaho
Review 9 for Shaping Powder Pro Palette
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:August 20, 2013
Tags: Non-Drying, Shine control, under eye highlight
This gives a great uner the eye highlight, i am an NC 25 and used the color emphasize if u r darker u would want to try accentuate. It gives your eye an awake apperance while setting your concealer. However if you apply too much your under eye can look too white, so apply sparingly.
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Rubia
Location: BRONX NEW YORK
Review 10 for Shaping Powder Pro Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Sculpting powder in warm light
Date:May 22, 2013
Tags: Non-Drying, Natural looking, Shine control, my cheeks!
A light peachy natural looking tone that I use on my cheeks. Subtle and natural looking. I like this for daytime with my new bronzing powder. These new sculpting powers are great. The consistency hides creases, etc. and can be used in so many ways! Incidentally, if you have one that you like to carry with you and don't want to put them in a palette, use one of your old compacts from MAC. I cut a carpet tape square and stick it inside! Good thing I've kept some instead of sending them in for recycling because I now have 5 in use! Some just stay on my make up counter, but I can always take one if it's going to be a long day and I might want to touch up. I like these better than regular powder because they blend in better on me!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Jani
Location: Florida
Review 11 for Shaping Powder Pro Palette
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Very Little pigmentation
Date:January 8, 2014
THUMBS DOWN. The color payoff is not good at all. I am Light/medium skin tone (like an NC/NW 30) and this barely shows up on my skin tone. I do not recommend, Sorry!
-11points
3of 17found this review helpful.
LynnProMUA
Location: NYC
Review 12 for Shaping Powder Pro Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great as a shadow wash
Date:October 21, 2011
Tags: eye shadow
While this is in the category of a face powder it works beautifully as an all over eye shadow wash. It's lighter than blanc type which is my staple and blends wonderfully.
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Songbird
Location: Northeast
Review 13 for Shaping Powder Pro Palette
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
love the color wish it was not as chalky
Date:January 30, 2013
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Highlighting
love the color, highlights slightly without over emphasizing. I just wish it blended better
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
kpd89
Location: newyork
Review 14 for Shaping Powder Pro Palette
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
not what i expected
Date:February 14, 2013
Tags: Non-Drying
looks different online when i received it i did not like it, very unsatisfied.
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
kc11
Location: oregon
Review 15 for Shaping Powder Pro Palette
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Emphasize
Date:February 26, 2013
Tags: Non-Drying, highlight eye shadow
I just recieved emphasize today and I must say, I'm not impressed. It's almost like a big, white eye shadow. It doesn't do what it's name recommends it does. I have light sweep and accentuate coming tomorrow along with shadester and I really hope I enjoy them more. As others say, it just comes in a pan, but I just put it and old lancome compact that I've hit pan in and it sticks right in.
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Little
Location: Bellingham wa