Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MacCosmetics.

MAC Mattene Lipstick

Average Customer Rating:
4.882 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Mattene Lipstick
Review 1 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best Lipstick!
Date:November 30, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, Long wearing, everyday, special occasions
Mac makeup is amazing, but this takes the cake! I wanted a bright red lipstick for my wedding... I've tried every expensive department store lipstick on the market with no success. They were too orange, too glossy, too sticky, too drying... I could go on for days. I wasn't sure a matte lipstick was for me, but I decided to give it a try... and I'm so glad I did! As other reviewers have said, it goes on great - not all dry and crumbly like other matte lipsticks. It feels like lip balm on and doesn't dry and it's definitely long lasting! I can't say enough nice things about this lipstick. I have it in "Eden Rouge" but I'll definitely be purchasing more colors!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: Wisconsin
Review 2 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Please make this line permanent!!!!
Date:November 19, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, Long wearing, anytime day night
These are some of the best lipsticks I've ever purchased from MAC. They go on extremely smooth and are very pigmented. It feels like butter gliding on your lips. I purchased Rare Exotic which is not for the faint of heart. And make no mistake, I wear bright colors year round so I will definitely pick up a back up of this. There are a few colors that are perfect for everyday wear to work, school, etc. I really hope that they make these a part of the permanent line. Mattene lipsticks are an excellent addition to MAC.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
nitsirhC
Location: TN
Review 3 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
new fave.
Date:October 17, 2011
Tags: Creamy, Color true, Long wearing
i love this! picked up naked bliss which is a cute nude-pink. it's semi-matte, it just feels like a thin "non-cakey" lipstick, creamy and moisturizing. i'm definitely picking up a few more! wish there were more colors to choose from!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
bexterminatorsz
Location: Houston, TX
Review 4 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I Love Mattene!
Date:September 18, 2011
Tags: everyday
I bought the shade Naked Bliss- I usually wear NC15 or NW20 and this gives my lips a my lips but better- and slightly pinkier look. While it is still on the paler pink side- it reminds me of a more pinked out version of snob, it is really pretty and really wearable. The texture is awesome! It has the pigmentation of a matte or a satin, but it feels like a lustre or glaze. It has a really nice slip to it and has tremendous staying power. After awhile it does get a little dry, but its nothing a lipglass or balm can't take care of. It doesn't show any lines or cracks in my lips either- like the drier matte versions (and some of the satins) do, so there is no need to plan ahead with a lip exfoliation in order to wear them. I really like this formulation and would love to see it made into more colors!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
MakeupMaken22
Location: Burlington, VT
Review 5 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love at first Smooch
Date:February 20, 2012
Tags: Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, wow factor/sexy/little black dress for lips
Completly IN LOVE with this M.A.C. Product. I adore my traditional Russian Red matte but upon reading a review about this mattene lipstick (in Eden Rouge) I just had to see for myself. Upon application it was smooth and the color was just GORGEOUS! The description that M.A.C gives is right on the money and completely worth it! Please don't discontinue this fantastic product! I am a M.A.C.-aholic and I always test before i buy but this one is just amazing and has left me in love at first pucker!!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Bxnmolina
Review 6 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love Mattene
Date:February 5, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Creamy, Color true
These are fantastic! I will be purchasing more of these in other colors. These aren't too creamy or too drying for me, they are perfect. This lipstick stays in my purse so it's on me at all times. Another must have for me.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
september
Location: NY
Review 7 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
WOOW
Date:September 15, 2011
I have tried all MAC lipsticks and I usually prefer the Satin finish because it is very pigmented and lasts longer. The downside is that your lips need to be perfect before applying if not, ALL imperfections will show. Well here is the perfect lipstick!!! It is soo pigmented but it feels so light and does not feel sticky. I LOVE this color. I wish they were permanent!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
valeri
Location: el paso
Review 8 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love, love, love it!
Date:October 2, 2011
Tags: long-lasting matte look everyday use.
I bought 3 of the new mattene lipsticks this weekend and love them! They give a nice matte look without being overly drying, like a lot of matte lipsticks can be. The color is longlasting and leaves a nice stain when it finally does wear off. I'm really hoping MAC decides to make them a permanent part of the line!! (pretty please MAC??)
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
MakeupMistress
Location: Washington, D.C.
Review 9 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
BEST!!!
Date:October 6, 2012
Tags: Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, Long wearing, lipstick addicts
Great formula, great color payoff, LONG WEARING, and just amazing!! l'm a sucker for red-orange lipsticks, so Fashion Nomad was def what i gravitated towards. I usually apply lip stain under it, moisterize, then apply it, blot it, then apply it again and i am literally set for the day. The color fades lightly as any lipstick, but it does leave a nice color when it does fade. I only have to reapply it once in a 12-hour day really. I also love matte lips but mac's matte lipsticks are drying, but not this mattene! Bought 2 of em bc theyre limited addition.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Lipstickjunkie45
Location: New York
Review 10 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Mattene Lipstick
Date:October 14, 2012
Tags: Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, everyday wear
LOVE the color! The color reminds me of pumpkins! Just in time for this Fall weather season :) I don't have to re-apply if I'm on the go, it does come off easily with a napkin, so re-applying after eating is a Must.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Kathia
Location: Fontana, Ca
Review 11 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
PERFECT!!!
Date:October 1, 2011
Tags: everyday!, everbody!, oily skin-types
I bought this yesterday,in Rare Exotic.I'm a platinum blonde with really light skin, oily skin just as an FYI. I wore it today. It was awesome! For me, finding a lipstick that stays is awesome because I do have oily skin, and even lipsticks (with liner!) have a way of not staying put. I put this on, went to the mall, had some good ol' greasy chinese food, and it barely looked like I ate a thing, it stayed on so well! I mean, of course some of the intensity was lost (since is was all over my fork and rim of my drink), but for something not advertised as a lipstain, it delivered. It took me FOREVER to get it off for work (since I was wearing a red top, I couldn't have bright pink lips! major faux pas there!). Overall, I loved it. MAC, I love you, darling. <3
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Nikole007
Location: Virginia Beach
Review 12 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Item
Date:September 8, 2012
Tags: Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, Long wearing, everyday, going out
If u wanna lip color that does not dry up ur lips like raisins or make 'em sticky like honey, the Mattene Lipstick is the one.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
PinkRanger5
Location: Katy, TX
Review 13 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Best Yet
Date:September 17, 2011
Tags: all
I too wish these were going to be a permanent part of M.A.Cs lip line. They are so lightweight, yet the darker shades have a huge color payoff whilst remaining smooth and almost just the same texture as your natural lip. I tried the Bare color -a winning nude-but went with Legendary as I love brick red colors. I ran it side to side with my daily use color- Spice It Up- which is a sheer-ish red. Legendary is a much bolder, matte version and works beautifully as a stain for day when blotted lightly on/bold for night swiped on (sparingly). Among the other colors, I also loved the deep burgundy and the purple, although I did expect it to be much cooler in tone. Overall a winning formulation.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Review 14 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Sexy
Date:January 23, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Creamy
I was afraid of using a real noticible color on my lips, I was the nude color lips kind of gal but this color made me change my mind. My lips look so full and gorgeous with this mattene lipstick. It goes on creamy but then turns to a matte finish and now it's one of my favorite lipsticks. Ladies, let's not be afraid of being a little bold, we may surprise ourselves.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Adore
Review 15 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Mattene lipstick
Date:December 13, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, Creamy, Color true
I bought the Delectable shade in September. I find this to be a very good, quality lipstick. It stays on even when you eat. Mac lipsticks do seem to stay on. I hope they continue this line and this color. Now if I could only find the Plush mascara in brown!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Yipzippy
Location: Palm Springs, Ca area
Review 16 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
matte yet very creamy non drying at all
Date:October 3, 2011
I was surprised to find a lipstick that was matte yet non drying I loved the color "naked bliss" a very nice nude stayed on very long and had a great color pay off but one thing I didn't really like was the packaging and the slimness of the actual lipstick.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Vanisha
Location: NY
Review 17 for Mattene Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
So Pigmented
Date:October 4, 2011
These lipsticks are amazing they are so pigmented and the color selection is super cute too. I bought the hot pink one and the deep purple and togehter they are fierce. I have already thought of my Halloween costume around these lipsticks.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
FacialGlamour
Location: Philadelphia, PA