Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Prep + Prime Highlighter

Average Customer Rating:
4.468 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Review 1 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
beautiful for undereye
Date:December 2, 2014
Tags: Highlighting, brightening undereye
I do a mix of bright forecast and light boost under my eye and up onto my temples. It is very creamy and easy to blend. It brightens and helps you look wide awake even when you're not. Bright forecast has a peachy tone so it's great to neutralize any darkness around the eyes. Light Boost looks really nice on the top of cheekbones as well as a more natural (not shimmery) highlight - under foundation or over. I highly recommend and will re-purchase.
+41points
41of 41found this review helpful.
LaurenthBrown
Location: Pittsburgh
Review 2 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
correct and perfect!
Date:January 11, 2015
Tags: discoloration hyperpigmentation under eye, in areas where you plan to highlight to avoid ashy
I purchased the pen in peach Lustre; an orange like color. This is great for discoloration and Under eye circles in skin colors NC45 and deeper. It has a smooth consistency and is easy to blend. I apply it between my primer and foundation.
+24points
25of 26found this review helpful.
ikia
Location: salisbury md
Review 3 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Beautiful Highlights To The Face
Date:May 8, 2014
Tags: subtle highlights, intense hightights
I am writing this review because as I was reading other comments before purchasing 2 of these highlighting pens myself. I could not help bujt to notice the review that stated that none of these pens compliment us NW45 women. Well, I am indeed a NW45 in Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation and Dark Deep in Beauty Balm and I use Bright Forecast as my highlights underneath my studio fix or BB cream. Also to make my Beauty Balm a little richer for my complexion, I use the Peach Lustre underneath as well sometimes. Peach Lustre is also used to contour my nose underneath saddle eyeshadow. Also I fix plus my face or the 225 brush after I apply the highlights b/c I find that the pens blend a lot easier when still moist. It can be like paint or something once completely dried. I don't recommend using these for your eye lids or as concealer under your eyes (especially the peach lustre). I use these as highlighters only as they are intended. Hopefully this review drives some of the NW45 ladies back to MAC to give these pens another shot. I also had one of the ladies at MAC to do a demo on me too and believe me between that and you tube, I am highlighter pen fit. Stay Faceful Ladies!!!
+134points
144of 154found this review helpful.
Silkylady
Location: Chicago
Review 4 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Amazing product!
Date:December 5, 2014
Tags: highlighting and concealing under eyes
I use this product under my eyes in a triangle shape to create that Kim Kardashian-esque highlighted look. I use bright forecast because of its peachy color to counteract the blueness of my under-eye circles and it works amazingly! I honestly cannot live without this product. The only downfall would be the way the product comes out, I have to turn the bottom so many times before any product comes out, and when it does its all at one. Other than that its an incredible product!
+20points
20of 20found this review helpful.
paigey93
Location: Michigan
Review 5 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great product!
Date:July 9, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, natural glow
It can be somewhat difficult to find a affordable highlighting product that do not contain copious amounts of glitter or shimmer but I finally found this one! YES it does contain some shimmer but it is very fine and only slightly noticeable in some lighting conditions. For your reference I am a NW20 skin tone in MAC concealers and foundations and went with the Radiant Rose color. It simply gives the face an almost candle light glow that looks natural and flattering. The pinkish kinda coraly color of the Radiant Rose works with the natural pinkish undertones of my skin wonderfully. I like to use it under the eyes before my concealer(MAC select moisture cover works well in conjunction with this product), on cheek bones, above my brow bone, on my cupids bow, and on my chin. The best way I have found to blend this is with a small duo fiber brush directly after application, using your fingers can make it somewhat difficult to buff in the product to make it look natural without removing too much of the product. I only have 2 issues with this product. 1-It tends to dry fast on your skin so you really want to blend it in well before it starts to dry. 2-I would have liked it better if the product had a window on the tube so that you could see how much product you have left in the pen.
+38points
43of 48found this review helpful.
nobz
Location: New Jersey
Review 6 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Could have been better
Date:November 14, 2014
Tags: Smudge resistant
The product is good, but the application is a little frustrating. Sometimes none comes out, sometimes it won't stop pouring. I find myself skipping the brush aspect to simply apply to the back of my hand and use a make up sponge to do the job. The makeup itself isn't bad, just not a fan of the applicator.
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
kellyizrad
Location: Raleigh, NC
Review 7 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
So Good
Date:January 11, 2014
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, under eye concealing, Highlighting
I am in love with this highlighter in radiant rose- it is perfect for my light nw15/20 skin- I use it under my eyes, on my cheek bones, down the bridge of my nose, over my eyebrows- anywhere I need a little extra highlight and oomph. I liked it the first time I bought it, and I love it even more the second time since I ran out of it and had to go without it for a little bit- I noticed what a huge difference it makes in my makeup. I have had the YSL ones and hated them- they didn't conceal, didn't really highlight, never really matched my skin, and creased like crazy- plus they cost like twice as much as the MAC brand. All of the problems I had with YSL are non-existent in this highlighter. It is just so good, and I will never be without it again!
+57points
65of 73found this review helpful.
MakeupMaken22
Location: Burlington, VT
Review 8 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
cool
Date:December 25, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, Highlighting
It does what it's supposed to and you really don't need a lot. I don't really like it as a concealer though. The only downside is as follows:
1 click = nothing
2 clicks = nothing
3 clicks = all this product comes out
+85points
99of 113found this review helpful.
LaDiabla13
Location: Philadelphia
Review 9 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great under eye concealer
Date:July 4, 2013
Tags: covering up dark circles
I bought this product hoping for a very unobtrusive under eye concealer, and got exactly that. Even looking really up close, it is very hard to tell that there is any product on. It does a great job covering up dark circles without making me look like a reverse raccoon (excessively white under the eyes, which I don't think looks so great). Perfectly natural looking and also adds a very gorgeous and subtle sheen. My only complaint (and it's not a big one) is that it creases pretty easily, even with primer... I have actually found that it applies better when primer is not first applied...
+42points
46of 50found this review helpful.
Twigs13
Review 10 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best highlighter ever!!!
Date:April 13, 2014
This is seriously my #1 go to product! I love this highlighter pen. I've tried several different types and brands of highlighters and this is best by far! I use it on the bridge of my nose, Cupid's bow, chin, cheek bones middle of my forehead and above my eye brows and it gives my face kind of like a candle lit glow is the best way to put it. I blend it with mac brush number 286. Works GREAT!!!
+24points
29of 34found this review helpful.
Amber84
Location: Myrtle Beach, S.C
Review 11 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Awesome!!!
Date:July 17, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, any where
Concealer.....Kiss it good Bye!!!! This product will BLOW your mind!!! For under eye, cover a blemish, or what ever your heart disire's (so to speak); this product is for you!! I have melasma and use this product to conceal and it works like a charm. You don't get that heavy "I have layers of make up on look" and for under eye (don't get me started)...Love It!! Doesn't crease!! I have have been using MAC for 15 years and Love them but MAC Please continue this product it's WORTH IT!!!
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
AriC
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Review 12 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Can't live without this thingy
Date:July 7, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, canceling gray and blues
NW30 Cream concealer with SPF and this pen in Bright forecast ... Baam!
I have to stare at computer screen all day (work?). This product combination cancels blue and grays around the eye and brightens.
Secret: on good skin days I only use this pen with sunscreen on my face.
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
PinkMeg
Location: Chicago,IL
Review 13 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Life Saver!
Date:April 9, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, Crease resistant, highlighting & brightening
Let me be the first to say.. This product is AMAZING!! I use it over my foundation, right on the top of my cheek bones, and down the center of my face. Let me tell you, my skin looks awesome, it's highlighted but matte so you don't get the sparkle some highlighters come with. I absolutely love it!! <3
+18points
19of 20found this review helpful.
karLaDee
Location: Oxnard
Review 14 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The answer to my prayers
Date:October 14, 2014
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, under eye darkness
This Mac product is by far the best under Eye concealer that I could find.
If you are looking to conceal dark circles under the eyes or on the face this is definitely the product. I am a woman of color and could not find anything to help with my dark circles this product Solves the problem and hides the under eye dark circles/spots
this product is the answer to my prayers it it's an awesome awesome awesome product
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Tashone
Review 15 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Facelift in a tube!
Date:January 25, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, undereye high planes of the face
These are FANTASTIC!! I love mixing them with prep n prime vibrancy eye and patting it under the eye with a 217 brush!! I also like to use it as a cheekbone highlight before applying my foundation. Light boost works very well to neutralize redness on blemishes. Just be sure to take the time to properly hydrate your skin before using.
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
MzBerri
Location: Columbus OH
Review 16 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
best highlighter hands down
Date:December 5, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, highlighter
I have dark skin with a yellow undertone. I ordered this in the peach after reading and watching some reviews. And this product did not disappoint. I went to the MAC counter and received a demo on how to work with it etc. I just hope this is a regular product.
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
violetqueen
Location: Cheektowaga ny
Review 17 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing as a concealer!!!!
Date:April 26, 2012
Tags: Smudge resistant, highlighting/ concealing
I bought this in "Light Boost" after watching the tutorial on the MAC website on contouring. I use it under the eyes and on the brow bone where I have some spots from stubborn hairs that I tweezed that left little scar marks. I let it sit for a bit before lightly patting into the skin with a flat foundation brush. Use a light hand when applying and be sure to be careful when turning the product to get it out...use a turn or two to get the product out since it can come out quite quickly! I love this as a highlighter/ concealer in the eye area...this really opens up the eye area.
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Tanmouse
Location: La Jolla, CA
Review 18 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
It's okay....
Date:December 21, 2013
I'm a NW45 and NONE of these shades are flattering.
+25points
35of 45found this review helpful.
ke3515
Review 19 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love it!
Date:April 24, 2014
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Highlighting
I purchased in shade Radiant Rose. This is my new favorite highlighting product. I can use it under my eyes with nothing else & it covers my dark circles. Definitely will repurchase.
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Jayjaybooboo
Location: Idaho
Review 20 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Perfect!
Date:March 9, 2015
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant
I love this highlighter! It can be used for contouring, or just to highlight parts of the face (that's mainly how I use it). I know there are many others out there, but this one is my absolute favorite!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Honey17
Location: New Orleans, LA
1-20 of 78 reviews