Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Prep + Prime Highlighter

Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Review 1 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Beautiful Highlights To The Face
Date:May 8, 2014
Tags: subtle highlights, intense hightights
I am writing this review because as I was reading other comments before purchasing 2 of these highlighting pens myself. I could not help bujt to notice the review that stated that none of these pens compliment us NW45 women. Well, I am indeed a NW45 in Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation and Dark Deep in Beauty Balm and I use Bright Forecast as my highlights underneath my studio fix or BB cream. Also to make my Beauty Balm a little richer for my complexion, I use the Peach Lustre underneath as well sometimes. Peach Lustre is also used to contour my nose underneath saddle eyeshadow. Also I fix plus my face or the 225 brush after I apply the highlights b/c I find that the pens blend a lot easier when still moist. It can be like paint or something once completely dried. I don't recommend using these for your eye lids or as concealer under your eyes (especially the peach lustre). I use these as highlighters only as they are intended. Hopefully this review drives some of the NW45 ladies back to MAC to give these pens another shot. I also had one of the ladies at MAC to do a demo on me too and believe me between that and you tube, I am highlighter pen fit. Stay Faceful Ladies!!!
+67points
73of 79found this review helpful.
Silkylady
Location: Chicago
Review 2 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
So Good
Date:January 11, 2014
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, under eye concealing, Highlighting
I am in love with this highlighter in radiant rose- it is perfect for my light nw15/20 skin- I use it under my eyes, on my cheek bones, down the bridge of my nose, over my eyebrows- anywhere I need a little extra highlight and oomph. I liked it the first time I bought it, and I love it even more the second time since I ran out of it and had to go without it for a little bit- I noticed what a huge difference it makes in my makeup. I have had the YSL ones and hated them- they didn't conceal, didn't really highlight, never really matched my skin, and creased like crazy- plus they cost like twice as much as the MAC brand. All of the problems I had with YSL are non-existent in this highlighter. It is just so good, and I will never be without it again!
+43points
49of 55found this review helpful.
MakeupMaken22
Location: Burlington, VT
Review 3 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best highlighter ever!!!
Date:April 13, 2014
This is seriously my #1 go to product! I love this highlighter pen. I've tried several different types and brands of highlighters and this is best by far! I use it on the bridge of my nose, Cupid's bow, chin, cheek bones middle of my forehead and above my eye brows and it gives my face kind of like a candle lit glow is the best way to put it. I blend it with mac brush number 286. Works GREAT!!!
+22points
26of 30found this review helpful.
Amber84
Location: Myrtle Beach, S.C
Review 4 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
cool
Date:December 25, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, Highlighting
It does what it's supposed to and you really don't need a lot. I don't really like it as a concealer though. The only downside is as follows:
1 click = nothing
2 clicks = nothing
3 clicks = all this product comes out
+69points
79of 89found this review helpful.
LaDiabla13
Location: Philadelphia
Review 5 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great product!
Date:July 9, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, natural glow
It can be somewhat difficult to find a affordable highlighting product that do not contain copious amounts of glitter or shimmer but I finally found this one! YES it does contain some shimmer but it is very fine and only slightly noticeable in some lighting conditions. For your reference I am a NW20 skin tone in MAC concealers and foundations and went with the Radiant Rose color. It simply gives the face an almost candle light glow that looks natural and flattering. The pinkish kinda coraly color of the Radiant Rose works with the natural pinkish undertones of my skin wonderfully. I like to use it under the eyes before my concealer(MAC select moisture cover works well in conjunction with this product), on cheek bones, above my brow bone, on my cupids bow, and on my chin. The best way I have found to blend this is with a small duo fiber brush directly after application, using your fingers can make it somewhat difficult to buff in the product to make it look natural without removing too much of the product. I only have 2 issues with this product. 1-It tends to dry fast on your skin so you really want to blend it in well before it starts to dry. 2-I would have liked it better if the product had a window on the tube so that you could see how much product you have left in the pen.
+19points
21of 23found this review helpful.
nobz
Location: New Jersey
Review 6 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great under eye concealer
Date:July 4, 2013
Tags: covering up dark circles
I bought this product hoping for a very unobtrusive under eye concealer, and got exactly that. Even looking really up close, it is very hard to tell that there is any product on. It does a great job covering up dark circles without making me look like a reverse raccoon (excessively white under the eyes, which I don't think looks so great). Perfectly natural looking and also adds a very gorgeous and subtle sheen. My only complaint (and it's not a big one) is that it creases pretty easily, even with primer... I have actually found that it applies better when primer is not first applied...
+38points
42of 46found this review helpful.
Twigs13
Review 7 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love it!
Date:April 24, 2014
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Highlighting
I purchased in shade Radiant Rose. This is my new favorite highlighting product. I can use it under my eyes with nothing else & it covers my dark circles. Definitely will repurchase.
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Jayjaybooboo
Location: Idaho
Review 8 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
best highlighter hands down
Date:December 5, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, highlighter
I have dark skin with a yellow undertone. I ordered this in the peach after reading and watching some reviews. And this product did not disappoint. I went to the MAC counter and received a demo on how to work with it etc. I just hope this is a regular product.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
violetqueen
Location: Cheektowaga ny
Review 9 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
It's okay....
Date:December 21, 2013
I'm a NW45 and NONE of these shades are flattering.
+23points
32of 41found this review helpful.
ke3515
Review 10 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Awesome!!!
Date:July 17, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, any where
Concealer.....Kiss it good Bye!!!! This product will BLOW your mind!!! For under eye, cover a blemish, or what ever your heart disire's (so to speak); this product is for you!! I have melasma and use this product to conceal and it works like a charm. You don't get that heavy "I have layers of make up on look" and for under eye (don't get me started)...Love It!! Doesn't crease!! I have have been using MAC for 15 years and Love them but MAC Please continue this product it's WORTH IT!!!
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
AriC
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Review 11 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Life Saver!
Date:April 9, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, Crease resistant, highlighting & brightening
Let me be the first to say.. This product is AMAZING!! I use it over my foundation, right on the top of my cheek bones, and down the center of my face. Let me tell you, my skin looks awesome, it's highlighted but matte so you don't get the sparkle some highlighters come with. I absolutely love it!! <3
+18points
19of 20found this review helpful.
karLaDee
Location: Oxnard
Review 12 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Can't live without this thingy
Date:July 7, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, canceling gray and blues
NW30 Cream concealer with SPF and this pen in Bright forecast ... Baam!
I have to stare at computer screen all day (work?). This product combination cancels blue and grays around the eye and brightens.
Secret: on good skin days I only use this pen with sunscreen on my face.
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
PinkMeg
Location: Chicago,IL
Review 13 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Facelift in a tube!
Date:January 25, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, undereye high planes of the face
These are FANTASTIC!! I love mixing them with prep n prime vibrancy eye and patting it under the eye with a 217 brush!! I also like to use it as a cheekbone highlight before applying my foundation. Light boost works very well to neutralize redness on blemishes. Just be sure to take the time to properly hydrate your skin before using.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
MzBerri
Location: Columbus OH
Review 14 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Bye Bye, concealer!
Date:August 19, 2014
Tags: Smudge resistant, Crease resistant
I use light boost, which is the yellow one, under my eyes. I literally don't even have to use concealer in that area anymore. This cancels out all of the blueish/darkness I have going on completely. It doesn't feel or look cakey. It doesn't crease. It sets beautifully. It's SO easy & I love it.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
ShanLynn
Location: Baltimore
Review 15 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Radiant Rose for Darker Skin Tones
Date:June 7, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, dark circles under eyes
I have a darker complexion (NC45) and everytime I try to find an undereye highlighting cream I look ashed out and grey. This stuff is AMAZING!!! It totally covers the dark skin under my eyes and my pro longwear concealer goes over it beautifully without looking ashy!!! It is crease resistant and doesn't smudge.. This product is a MUST for anyone who wants to hide those dark circles!!!
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Esperanza
Location: Fresno, CA
Review 16 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
HIGHLIGHTER HEAVEN
Date:May 23, 2014
Tags: Crease resistant, Highlighting
The BEST highlighter you will ever find... I know because I've tried everything and this is in a category by itself. Between colour selection, formula and the applicator... it doesn't get any better... and did I mention this is on mature skin. This is a fool-proof, full-proof product and once you try it you will be sold... I PROMISE!!!
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
xXxCGPBxXx
Location: Saskatoon, SK Canada
Review 17 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing as a concealer!!!!
Date:April 26, 2012
Tags: Smudge resistant, highlighting/ concealing
I bought this in "Light Boost" after watching the tutorial on the MAC website on contouring. I use it under the eyes and on the brow bone where I have some spots from stubborn hairs that I tweezed that left little scar marks. I let it sit for a bit before lightly patting into the skin with a flat foundation brush. Use a light hand when applying and be sure to be careful when turning the product to get it out...use a turn or two to get the product out since it can come out quite quickly! I love this as a highlighter/ concealer in the eye area...this really opens up the eye area.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Tanmouse
Location: La Jolla, CA
Review 18 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
In Love
Date:March 24, 2012
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, Highlighting, primer
I am in love with this product! I use it on my eyelids and under my eyes, it's great! It works great to help cover dark circles and brighten under the eyes to make dark circles less visible. It also works as a eye primer.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
SaySay
Location: Ontario
Review 19 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Prep & Prime Highlighter
Date:October 11, 2012
Tags: Smudge resistant, eye sheen & sparkle, adds a nice sparkle sheen to eyelids
This product I would not recommend for those with dry skin and dark circles. I have dry, light skin with dark circles under my eyes. I hoped this might help. I tried it over moisturrizer and both over & under makeup, it did not smear during wear, yet it seemed to counter act with the moisture and makeup - making under eyes seem noticeably darker and dryer. Caused my under my eyes to crease, But on the lids it was great even with no eye shadow, loved that part.
However, it has a great sparkle! It was too hard to get the balace right for myself. I'm sure it will work well for others without my same problems.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Stella
Location: Houston,TX
Review 20 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The answer to my prayers
Date:October 14, 2014
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, under eye darkness
This Mac product is by far the best under Eye concealer that I could find.
If you are looking to conceal dark circles under the eyes or on the face this is definitely the product. I am a woman of color and could not find anything to help with my dark circles this product Solves the problem and hides the under eye dark circles/spots
this product is the answer to my prayers it it's an awesome awesome awesome product
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Tashone
1-20 of 65 reviews