Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Prep + Prime Highlighter

Average Customer Rating:
4.471 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Review 1 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
So Good
Date:January 11, 2014
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, under eye concealing, Highlighting
I am in love with this highlighter in radiant rose- it is perfect for my light nw15/20 skin- I use it under my eyes, on my cheek bones, down the bridge of my nose, over my eyebrows- anywhere I need a little extra highlight and oomph. I liked it the first time I bought it, and I love it even more the second time since I ran out of it and had to go without it for a little bit- I noticed what a huge difference it makes in my makeup. I have had the YSL ones and hated them- they didn't conceal, didn't really highlight, never really matched my skin, and creased like crazy- plus they cost like twice as much as the MAC brand. All of the problems I had with YSL are non-existent in this highlighter. It is just so good, and I will never be without it again!
+17points
19of 21found this review helpful.
MakeupMaken22
Location: Burlington, VT
Review 2 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
cool
Date:December 25, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, Highlighting
It does what it's supposed to and you really don't need a lot. I don't really like it as a concealer though. The only downside is as follows:
1 click = nothing
2 clicks = nothing
3 clicks = all this product comes out
+23points
26of 29found this review helpful.
LaDiabla13
Location: Philadelphia
Review 3 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great under eye concealer
Date:July 4, 2013
Tags: covering up dark circles
I bought this product hoping for a very unobtrusive under eye concealer, and got exactly that. Even looking really up close, it is very hard to tell that there is any product on. It does a great job covering up dark circles without making me look like a reverse raccoon (excessively white under the eyes, which I don't think looks so great). Perfectly natural looking and also adds a very gorgeous and subtle sheen. My only complaint (and it's not a big one) is that it creases pretty easily, even with primer... I have actually found that it applies better when primer is not first applied...
+29points
31of 33found this review helpful.
Twigs13
Review 4 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
It's okay....
Date:December 21, 2013
I'm a NW45 and NONE of these shades are flattering.
+14points
18of 22found this review helpful.
ke3515
Review 5 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great product!
Date:July 9, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, natural glow
It can be somewhat difficult to find a affordable highlighting product that do not contain copious amounts of glitter or shimmer but I finally found this one! YES it does contain some shimmer but it is very fine and only slightly noticeable in some lighting conditions. For your reference I am a NW20 skin tone in MAC concealers and foundations and went with the Radiant Rose color. It simply gives the face an almost candle light glow that looks natural and flattering. The pinkish kinda coraly color of the Radiant Rose works with the natural pinkish undertones of my skin wonderfully. I like to use it under the eyes before my concealer(MAC select moisture cover works well in conjunction with this product), on cheek bones, above my brow bone, on my cupids bow, and on my chin. The best way I have found to blend this is with a small duo fiber brush directly after application, using your fingers can make it somewhat difficult to buff in the product to make it look natural without removing too much of the product. I only have 2 issues with this product. 1-It tends to dry fast on your skin so you really want to blend it in well before it starts to dry. 2-I would have liked it better if the product had a window on the tube so that you could see how much product you have left in the pen.
+13points
14of 15found this review helpful.
nobz
Location: New Jersey
Review 6 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Life Saver!
Date:April 9, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, Crease resistant, highlighting & brightening
Let me be the first to say.. This product is AMAZING!! I use it over my foundation, right on the top of my cheek bones, and down the center of my face. Let me tell you, my skin looks awesome, it's highlighted but matte so you don't get the sparkle some highlighters come with. I absolutely love it!! <3
+15points
16of 17found this review helpful.
karLaDee
Location: Oxnard
Review 7 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Awesome!!!
Date:July 17, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, any where
Concealer.....Kiss it good Bye!!!! This product will BLOW your mind!!! For under eye, cover a blemish, or what ever your heart disire's (so to speak); this product is for you!! I have melasma and use this product to conceal and it works like a charm. You don't get that heavy "I have layers of make up on look" and for under eye (don't get me started)...Love It!! Doesn't crease!! I have have been using MAC for 15 years and Love them but MAC Please continue this product it's WORTH IT!!!
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
AriC
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Review 8 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Facelift in a tube!
Date:January 25, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, undereye high planes of the face
These are FANTASTIC!! I love mixing them with prep n prime vibrancy eye and patting it under the eye with a 217 brush!! I also like to use it as a cheekbone highlight before applying my foundation. Light boost works very well to neutralize redness on blemishes. Just be sure to take the time to properly hydrate your skin before using.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
MzBerri
Location: Columbus OH
Review 9 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Can't live without this thingy
Date:July 7, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, canceling gray and blues
NW30 Cream concealer with SPF and this pen in Bright forecast ... Baam!
I have to stare at computer screen all day (work?). This product combination cancels blue and grays around the eye and brightens.
Secret: on good skin days I only use this pen with sunscreen on my face.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
PinkMeg
Location: Chicago,IL
Review 10 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
best highlighter hands down
Date:December 5, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, highlighter
I have dark skin with a yellow undertone. I ordered this in the peach after reading and watching some reviews. And this product did not disappoint. I went to the MAC counter and received a demo on how to work with it etc. I just hope this is a regular product.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
violetqueen
Location: Cheektowaga ny
Review 11 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Love this stuff!!!
Date:February 24, 2014
I absolutely love this highlight makeup pen from Mac. It covers darkness under my eyes so well. It works great! This is defintely a part of my makeup routine from now on out!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Amber84
Location: Myrtle Beach, S.C
Review 12 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I wanted a good hilighter.
Date:November 27, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, hilighting covering dark under eyes.
Love the product will repurchase!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
BrooklynLove
Location: Orlando
Review 13 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Gorgeous!
Date:May 7, 2013
Tags: highlights
These are just the most beautiful highlighters! Very subtle and give a soft glow effect. I use it under the eye in an inverted triangle and up across the upper cheekbone and then gently blend in using a dry sponge. Also great for highlighting down the bridge of the nose etc.
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Annies12
Location: California
Review 14 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best highlighter ever!!!
Date:April 13, 2014
This is seriously my #1 go to product! I love this highlighter pen. I've tried several different types and brands of highlighters and this is best by far! I use it on the bridge of my nose, Cupid's bow, chin, cheek bones middle of my forehead and above my eye brows and it gives my face kind of like a candle lit glow is the best way to put it. I blend it with mac brush number 286. Works GREAT!!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Amber84
Location: Myrtle Beach, S.C
Review 15 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LOVE LOVE LOVE ♥♥♥
Date:April 3, 2014
Tags: Highlighting
I actually like to use this under my concealer to create a glow underneath when highlighting under my eyes, nose, forehead and chin. it is amazing. I wish you could attach pics because when the sun hits my face or if I am taking a pic with a flash your whole face just lights up.. its BEAUTIFUL! and you dont need a lot. I haven't had the problem of too much coming out.. I had an issue with not enough coming out.. but if I shake it a few times and a few clicks Im good to go for my whole face. I have this in bright forecast and I am a NW50/NC50 mix. (I know interesting mix huh?) and I use NC45 prolongwear concealer.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
EricaP
Location: Alexandria, VA
Review 16 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Gives a glow from within
Date:December 29, 2013
Tags: Highlighting
I love this highlighter. It makes one appear as if you are glowing from within.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Mikic2
Location: Houston, TX
Review 17 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
In Love
Date:March 24, 2012
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, Highlighting, primer
I am in love with this product! I use it on my eyelids and under my eyes, it's great! It works great to help cover dark circles and brighten under the eyes to make dark circles less visible. It also works as a eye primer.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
SaySay
Location: Ontario
Review 18 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great but not for oily skin
Date:April 7, 2014
Tags: dry skin
I love love love this product for the first 2 hours or so, but after that I look very shiny and all my makeup melts off.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Reece
Location: Houston
Review 19 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
not exactly for darker skin tones...
Date:March 28, 2012
I found this product dried to quickly to blend properly into my N40-45 DRY skin. It feels like trying to blend paint or something. You can make it work with a little more time and a bit of moisturizer but unless you're doing someone else's face, you may not want to go to the trouble. It looks alright once it is blended into my skin, but I find I have to lift away a little product first. Not very functional.
+8points
10of 12found this review helpful.
DaniC
Location: The great state of Texas
Review 20 for Prep + Prime Highlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Radiant Rose for Darker Skin Tones
Date:June 7, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, dark circles under eyes
I have a darker complexion (NC45) and everytime I try to find an undereye highlighting cream I look ashed out and grey. This stuff is AMAZING!!! It totally covers the dark skin under my eyes and my pro longwear concealer goes over it beautifully without looking ashy!!! It is crease resistant and doesn't smudge.. This product is a MUST for anyone who wants to hide those dark circles!!!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Esperanza
Location: Fresno, CA
1-20 of 51 reviews