Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Pro Longwear Paint Pot

Average Customer Rating:
4.71 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (255 reviews)
5 stars
214
4 stars
24
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Review 1 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Highly Versatile!
Date:January 26, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable, Crease resistant
Originally I purchased this in Constructavist to be a strong base colour for my darker shadows and it worked beautifully. It wasn't till I tried the shade Painterly, however, that the product's full potential was revealed. I now use that shade as my only eyelid primer. It creates a smooth base that hides any unwanted pigmentation or imperfections and helps all eyeshadow stick and be more vibrant. It works better than other eyelid primers and even has a third effect as a under-eye concealer (not it's best function mind you, but in a pinch it gets the job done).
+25points
26of 27found this review helpful.
Ronsworth
Location: Arizona
Review 2 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Fantastic product
Date:January 25, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, eyeshadow base, primer
I've never experiences cream shadows this smooth and long lasting. I have painterly and I use it as a base/primer for my eyeshadow every. single. day. It's wonderful, it provides coverage for my lids while dually creating a fantastic canvas for my eyeshadow. It prevents my eyeshadows from creasing and lasts all day long. YOU NEED THIS PRODUCT. It's a holy grail in my book.
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
CaeDee
Location: Idaho
Review 3 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perfect base
Date:January 8, 2014
Tags: primer
Bare study is the perfect base. Helps your shadow stay on and not crease. Perfect highlighter. Lasts a long time. I've had mine 7 months and have used daily. Ready to order again. Love it
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
MrsCadle
Location: Richlands, VA
Review 4 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Go to the nearest MAC store to get it
Date:December 21, 2013
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, color 'primering'
The product is wonderful. Easy to apply. Runs on smoothly using a MAC 217 brush (my personal preference). Though it dries out rather fast, gives you time enough to work it properly, either if you are going to use it instead of a primer/as a primer, or either if you are using it as you eye shadow. The colors are fantastic. Basic, precise and definitely 'multi task' kinda colors. You can use them to conceal, not just your eye lid, but random imperfections using lighter shades, or even to contour areas such as your nose. The only problem I have with this product is that the colors in the web site are very different than the actual color, so if you don't know the shade you are getting before hand, rather find the nearest MAC store and try and pick it there, cause the colors shown here can be deceiving. Besides that... AMAZING
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
AndreaFK
Location: USA
Review 5 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Paint Pots .... Got me Addicted to MAC
Date:January 16, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Crease resistant, priming eyelids
I love my Soft Ochre Paint Pot. And almost every other one I have ever purchased, but the Soft Ochre is my HG. I have very discolored eyelids and need a primer to both set my shadow and make the skin tone of my lids uniform. This and/or Painterly Paint Pot will probably do that for any skin tone. I had never tried MAC products until I tried their paint pots and now I use many different products from the line every day. But these ... are special. Yes, there are some dupes now that cost less but they are not MAC's paints or paint pots. They were the first to market them and they are the best at making them,
I will say that I shy away from some of the more glittery ones just due to my age. But I always have a soft ochre back up in a drawer!
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
3110hello
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Review 6 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
paint pot pro
Date:February 18, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable
I have tried all kinds of concealers and eye primers to hide my discolored eye lids.
Painterly is the best of all. It makes my eyes look neutral as if I have nothing on them, which is what I wanted. I have another eye shadow by another company I thought would work, but it is slightly browner. I have one that is lighter than painterly that is also matt, that I use on my upper eye sometimes.
It also works as a neutral base to put powdered eye shadows on over. A little goes a long way and I use a brush designed for cream eye shadow. I blend some with that and then finish with a finger. I love it. Don't ever stop making this color.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
mctripat
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Review 7 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Adore!
Date:December 26, 2013
Tags: all day wear
I absolutely love this product. I use painterly as a primer and my eyeshadow doesn't budge for 15+ hours! My shadow looks perfectly blended and flawless on top of the paint pot.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
KayU
Location: Washington
Review 8 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Wonderful!
Date:May 30, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Crease resistant
These things are amazing! I own two--Bare Study and Indianwood--and I just ordered Rubenesque. I don't love spending tons of time on my makeup in the summer, so I needed a quick fix for beautiful, summery eyes: these paint pots really do the trick! I just swipe em on, add some eyeliner and mascara, and I'm out the door! It's my new favorite summer 2011 product, and a must-have! I highly recommend Indianwood for the summer months because it gives your eyes a nice bronzy glow. I've been using my paint pots daily for more than a month and I've barely made a dent in the pot. These are going to last awhile. I haven't experienced any creasing, nor have my paint pots dried out at all. Make sure that you keep the lid on tight! Wonderful product. After I get my hands on Rubenesque, I plan on adding Painterly and Constructivist to my collection as well. (: MAC, you've done it again!
+21points
21of 21found this review helpful.
iHeartPaintPots
Review 9 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
pefect!!
Date:August 31, 2012
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, Contouring, alone as an eyeshadow, as a base for darker eyeshadows
This product is amazing, but sometimes it's hard to pick the right shade online, so I'm sharing my skin info to give others a frame of reference. I'm light skinned with pink cheeks and am anywhere from an NW 20-30 in Mac foundation/concealer, depending on whether it's the dead of winter or I just got tanned on vacation. The Groundwork paintpot is the perfect neutral brown for my skin tone. I use it as my every day eyeshadow, as a base for getting darker eyeshadows to stay on my lid and not migrate down over the rest of my face and, an I'm not sure if it's even safe for my skin to do this, as my contour color for cheeks and, um, saggy chin area. The product works perfectly for each of these 3 different uses, blends beautifully, and is such a perfect color match that I can make it look natural regardless of which foundation shade I'm in. Since first trying and loving this product I have gotten them for my sisters and they too love these paintpots but would like to note that my younger sister has darker skin than me and is mediterranean/olive complected and the color "Quite Natural" looked better on her than "Groundwork". Hope this helps :)
+16points
18of 20found this review helpful.
augustine5
Location: Ohio
Review 10 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Constructivist!! LOVE!
Date:September 2, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
I have Painterly already and love that one, so I decided to go in and get another shade. Once I tried the Constructivist pro longwear paint pot, I fell in love!!! The color is absolutely gorgeous and can easily be worn day or night. I wore it all day today without any other shadows, blended on my lid and into my crease as well as my lower lash line. AMAZING! Does not move or crease at all! In love with Constructivist!!
+10points
12of 14found this review helpful.
raypie101
Location: SF area, California
Review 11 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
EXCELLENT!!!!
Date:January 5, 2014
Tags: using as a base for other shadows
This is an excellent eyeshadow that can be used as a base, a primer or as using it as your main eyeshadow. Very creamy and VERY long lasting!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
bremac777
Location: Michigan
Review 12 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
base of my dreams
Date:December 30, 2013
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, eye color, primer
one of the best cream shadows i've ever used. you can use it either as a primer to prolong the life of your shadows or to enhance the color of your shadows. it can also be used on its own in a pinch and it wont crease at all.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
bexamillion
Review 13 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Necessity.
Date:February 14, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Crease resistant, all day every day twice on sunday.
I can't live without Mac paint pots. If they were discontinued, I'd no longer be able to carry on with daily makeup applications. I have used these basically as a primer for other shadows for years. My eye makeup stays put for the entire day.... And by entire day, I mean I can also sleep in it, wake up, and still look like a million bucks. No joke... Worth. Every. Single. Penny.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Christina6
Location: Pa
Review 14 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The best kind of base
Date:August 19, 2010
Tags: Crease resistant, bases eye primers
Paint pots make for excellent bases / eye primers. I've tried many other brands and formulas. Some were more expensive, some were less expensive. I've found that nothing compares to paint pots as far as consistency, wear, and selection. Painterly is my perfect nude base (I'm a cool-toned NW20 and FYI: paint pots are great for covering eye discolorations), but I also love the variety of colors to choose from. The more colorful paint pots allow shadows and pigments to really make a statement. The jars in which they are packaged in are extremely convenient and full of product. I've never once had a problem with creasing while using paint pots as a base, not even in the summer months.
+16points
16of 16found this review helpful.
Katie
Location: New Jersey
Review 15 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Quite Natural
Date:December 12, 2013
Tags: Blendable, Crease resistant, eyeshadow base eye makeup eyebrows
I.FREAKIN.LOVE.THIS.STUFF! I am shade NW45 in MAC'S Studio Fix Fluid, So you can get the idea of my skin tone. (Caramel/Brown Skin) I use MAC's PRO LONG WEAR PAINT POT in Quite Natural as a shadow base for when ever I am doing a quick or exaggerated smokey eye to a neutral warm kind of look. (You can also use this stuff to fill in your brows as well!) I am addicted to this paint pot! I will most certainly be purchasing the other colors. But honey chiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiild this one takes the cake
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
LipstickVillain
Location: Queens, NY
Review 16 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Believe the hype!
Date:January 17, 2011
Tags: Crease resistant, priming eyelid
Since turning 40, I have a lot of lines and wrinkles all over my eyelids - and they make my eyeshadow look sloppy - that I thought I had to give up my shadow. I just tried this product as a primer and it is AMAZING!!! I used the color called "painterly" and it is the perfect nude color that blends in with my skin. My shadow glided on like a dream! Also, I have very oily eyelids and my shadow used to crease immediately. This product has stopped that problem. Honestly, in the past my shadow was creased after about an hour or two. This products stops the oilies and NO creasing all day long!!! My eyes look beautiful for the first time ever. I wish I discovered this ages ago. Whoever developed this formula...THANK YOU
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
ChristineO
Location: St. Louis, MO
Review 17 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
The Best
Date:February 17, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, eyeshadow base
The Best eyeshadow base.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Alinero
Review 18 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great as a primer or by itself
Date:February 5, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
As of right now, I use Painterly Paint Pot as a primer for my eyeshadows. I use it everyday and I never have any problems with it. I live in a pretty humid place so I would expect some creasing, but with the Pro longwear Paint pots dont expect it. Its creaming and long lasting. Ive actually notices my eyeshadow looking just as pigmented. I love it!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
savvy
Location: Austin,Tx
Review 19 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
LOVE
Date:October 11, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, eyes
I absolutely LOVE MAC paint pots! I have Bare study, Blackground, and Lets skate. They are very versatile and can be sheer and simple for a day time look, or bold and sexy for an evening look. I will definitely continue to buy these paint pots and I would recommend to anyone. Love this product!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Cosmogirl85
Review 20 for Pro Longwear Paint Pot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Amazing!
Date:January 25, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Crease resistant
Great for my oily eye lids.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
suzieR
Location: El Paso Texas
1-20 of 255 reviews