Product Reviews

MAC Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50

Average Customer Rating:
2.461 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (130 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
9
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
73
Customer Reviews for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Review 1 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
so sad!
Date:May 27, 2013
Tags: laying on the beach...
I know, this has been said a lot but I cannot stress it enough: this new formula is nothing like the original product and mac really needs to do something about it!
I mean, I appreciate that they tried to improve the SPF rather than just changing the label, but what came out is plain and simple a sunscreen and nothing more. Its so sad, b/c this used to be my favorite product and I planned on buying it for the rest of my life but I simply cannot life with this new formula! Within a couple of hours my skin was so terribly oily, I was actually shocked when I incidentally touched my face and felt like I had touched an oil-spill. Even worse was when I went to have a look into the mirror. My make-up looked blotchy and oily and I appeared to have huge pores, which usually is absolutely not one of my concerns - none of it actually. I was so shocked, I took of my make-up as soon as I could, to see what was going on and realized that it had to be the primer, b/c once it was off my face, everything was back to normal. I gave this product a more than fair chance, trying to make this work in different ways with more powder etc. but I am sorry to say it is just not worth the money and it has to go back to the store.
Mac, If you can or will not bring back the old formula, then please keep working on the new formula b/c I would really like to have back my perfect primer/sunscreen!
+36points
37of 38found this review helpful.
NanaHe
Location: California
Review 2 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Used to be a great product...
Date:August 10, 2013
New formula. Why??? This primer was the best thing ever for oily skin. I've tried several mattifying lotions but this one was the only one that delivered. Well, not anymore. Another plus was that the foundation did not oxidize while wearing this primer. I mean that after a couple of hours, the foundation changed its colour, turning darker or more orange somehow. I never liked that, but couldn't do anything about it until I tried the old formula of this primer. I would get home in the evenings looking almost exactly as when I'd left in the morning, without touching up. No colour changes, no shine, no sticky feeling. Just perfect. Honestly, I don't understand why they changed it, now it's like any lotion with spf out there. And in that case, I'd rather buy UVB/UVA broad spectrum. I'll definetely won't purchase again unless they change it back. I really hope they do...
+27points
27of 27found this review helpful.
AmyRo
Location: London
Review 3 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
PLEASE BRING BACK THE OLD!
Date:March 12, 2013
Tags: people with dry skin..not combination or oily
I had used the old prep&prime face protect visage SPF 50 for two whole years before MAC randomly switched the formula. I went to three different stores buying and returning because I did not understand why the consistency had changed and the product was no longer working. This is really upsetting because everyone knows that it is hard to find products that work. Once you find something that becomes a staple, you really just can't do without it. Please do not buy this new formula if you have been using the old one. It makes skin oily and you will experience breakouts. I really can't express just how disappointed I am with this formula change. I have spent so much money trying to find something that comes close to what I had..Mac, if you are reading this, PLEASE look at all of us suffering here in the review section and offer the old formula back.. even if you have to change the SPF on the label. I really don't care. I just want my old moisturizer back!
+28points
28of 28found this review helpful.
Simma
Location: New York
Review 4 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Terrible new formula
Date:August 12, 2013
Tags: non oily people
I use to live by the old formula and stayed oil free all day for years. This new formula is terrible for people with oily skin. My skin is so oily within 20 mins of applying my foundation. What are we supposed to do with this new formula besides throw it in the trash? Please bring back the old formula !!! This was a waste of my money...
+19points
19of 19found this review helpful.
plusdivamodel
Location: MD
Review 5 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Best thing ever until the formula changed...
Date:September 6, 2012
This was one of the best primers I've ever used. Until recently when I repurchased this product I found that its so thin and runny and my make up doesn't look as great as it use to before. It feels oily to me and my face starts shining in less than an hour. The formula before was way better.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Purplegem
Location: New York
Review 6 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Awesome product for oily skin
Date:November 16, 2010
Tags: Minimizes look of pores, Smooths, Extends foundation wear, moisture spf coverage and primer all in one!
I am a makeup artist but most importantly, a consumer with needs just like everyone else. I've tested various products and really love the SPF and primer effect of this item. My makeup would always "move" and I looked glossy at the end of the day. My skin is also prone to acne so I needed to be careful which moisturizer I could use that delivered the goods. This is definitely it! It holds my makeup in place, smoothes out my skin and pores making them look flawless. The best part is that I don't break out and also holds my eyeshadow colors in tact without blending them or creasing them on my eyelid. Definitely recommend!!! Also, a little goes along way, the product just glides on your skin.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
AbitofRouge
Location: Los Angeles
Review 7 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
HATE the new formula!
Date:February 18, 2013
Tags: someone with super dry skin--maybe
Please please bring back the old formula. It was my holy grail, I used it every day for years and don't know what I will do without it. The new formula makes my skin look shiny and gross and my pores huge. I took it back the the store the second day and thought it was defective. They told me MAC changed the formula. WHY???? MAC took a great product and absolutely ruined it.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
MIA1
Review 8 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
This is not good
Date:June 10, 2013
This product is terrible since they changed it. It doesn't work? The old product was so much better. I'm not understanding why they would chance it. Please bring it back.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Rashae
Location: Maryland
Review 9 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great Product; Poor Packaging
Date:January 26, 2011
Tags: sunblock; oily skin
This is an amazing product. I have oily skin and this keeps my make-up in place and my face matte all day - and that's hard in a city as humid as Houston. The spf 50+ is great and it doesn't feel or smell like sunblock - a BIG positive for me. The bad thing is that the design and material of the tube make it difficult to get product out after about 2 weeks. This is very sad as I fear the effectiveness of the spf isn't as good once I cut the tube and transfer the product. The product is amazing, the packaging is poor. I really wish MAC would change the design so that it was more effective.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
LNBB
Location: Houston, TX
Review 10 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
NEW FORMULA IS TERRIBLE
Date:October 16, 2012
The NEW formula is TERRIBLE. I received a sample of the original product at a MAC counter and fell in love with it. The original product was not greasy and did not have the sunscreen feel or smell. It kept my makeup perfect for the entire day and kept oil under control. I went out to buy a full size and was so disappointed when I got home to find out that the formula has changed. The new formula is runny, greasy and does not keep my makeup on all day. It feels like I am putting sunblock on my face, the original formula did not feel this way at all. The new formula also doesn't allow my eye primer to work, the oil seeps through and makes my eye shadow crease. As you can see from other reviews, there was nothing wrong with the original formula. We all loved it and hate the new formula! PLEASE BRING BACK THE ORIGINAL FORMULA.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
ktkt
Location: los angeles
Review 11 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Pro/Con
Date:June 15, 2011
Tags: oily skin those who want a polished clean look
PRO....Product...it works extremely well to blot even the oilest skin ALL day and is comfortable.
CON....Packaging is stiff and too small to conveniently dispense product. Most often, from having to squeeze so hard to get the cream to come out, I end up using 2x´s the amount I need. Also due to the wide, stiff neck a lot product stays trapped in the neck and this stuff aint cheap.
Advice: Keep the product, ditch the current packaging for something which dispenses the cream more easily and more efficiently.
Cheers, K8
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
K8DID
Location: Bogota Colombia
Review 12 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
AMAZING!
Date:May 14, 2011
Tags: oily skin
I LOVE this product!! I have very oily skin with large pores. I feel like I have tried everything under the sun to help reduce my shine and hide my huge pore with no success until now. Every other product I've used (from drugstore products to high end cosmetics) left me having to powder up 20 mins later. This product leaves you shine free almost all day. I've had this on for 6 hr already and still matte as can be. I LOVE IT!!! The fact that is also has 50 spf makes it all that better!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Sally
Location: San Bernadino county
Review 13 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
It's been changed
Date:August 25, 2012
Tags: no one
I've been using this product for years. The formula has changed without warning or notice. I purchased a tube and the back of the package caught my eye as I went to open it the next morning. What used to be primarily zinc oxide now contains all the chemicals you can find in cheap spf primers in the grocery store including Oxybenzone which is regulated in the EU. My main reason for going with this 30 dollar ounce was the old active ingredients. With that changed, I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone. Additionally, I'm highly disappointed in Mac for not being upfront with the alteration of the formula. The sales reps in the store & the name/package/label remain the same unless you inspect the active ingredients list.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Aliizee
Location: Austin, Tx
Review 14 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
MAC---WHY???
Date:September 14, 2012
WHY WHY WHY did you go and change this perfect formula? What possesses you to do this??? This product is now awful. No oil control whatsoever--no perfect looking makeup. I actually gave the rest of my old tube to a friend to try and when I opened my new tube and this runny shiney stuff came out and I used it I was so upset. I actually made my friend bring me back the old tube I had given her so I can cut it open and scrape the sides !!! Mac would you PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE change the formula back to the good formula ? We are begging you to please fix this !! It might sound silly but for most of us--it really is the difference between our makeup looking great and it looking NOT great at all. PLEASE??????
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
glimmer88
Location: birminghal al
Review 15 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Reformulated
Date:October 30, 2014
This used to be my favorite sunscreen, I have crazy sensitive skin & this primer made my makeup look amazing. And then they reformulated. Now I can't wear it at all. PLEASE bring back the original!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
junomacguff
Review 16 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Formula Changed, not for the better
Date:September 5, 2012
Tags: no one
For years Prep + Prime SPF50 has been one of my favorite products; I used it everyday. On the weekend I bought a new tube and on first use immediately noticed a difference with the texture of the product - more liquid. I did my normal makeup routine. Even early in the morning, I noticed a greasy slick starting on my face, with my foundation sliding. By late afternoon it looked like I had been basted with oil. This never happened with my previous tubes of Prep and Prime SPF50. I did a quick internet search saw other people were noticing this too. I will return this product and will not buy again.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
SPlover
Location: SD
Review 17 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
HORRIBLE REFORMULATION OF A "PERFECT" PRODUCT
Date:September 17, 2012
I could not agree more with the others regarding the "reformulation" of this!! It used to be perfect and kept my face matte all day. It's now sunscreen-like and make me so shiny I couldn't believe it. It's terrible. The new formula is slippery and thin - NOTHING like the old, PERFECT product it used to be. This had been my go-to for years - I'd probably purchased about 25-30 tubes, at least... but no more. Searching for something else.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
LHW1
Review 18 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Old favorite now hate it!
Date:October 16, 2012
This use to be my favorite primer because it would control the oil on my face and my makeup would look great for hours...I recently bought a new one when my old one ran out and it is terrible! My makeup is runny and I look like an oil spill. I am so disappointed that something so amazing is now so horrible. MAC needs to fix this ASAP.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
monicole82
Location: Oak Brook
Review 19 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Warning: Formula Has Changed
Date:March 11, 2013
MAC, if you're not going to bring the old formula back, please take this product off the market because I can foresee a loss in revenue trying to sell this new formula.
Many loyal customers, including myself, have been using this primer since 2008 to perfectly prime, mattify, and control oil - and it was superb. The keyword there however is "was."
Recently, MAC has, heaven knows why, changed the formula for this once perfect product. The new product is less than mediocre at achieving what it's previous formulation was effortlessly capable of.
Honestly, if the old formula was brought back and costed twice as much - I would still purchase it. It was THAT good. The current formula however, please take mine and these current reviewers' advice and pass up this product until the formula has changed back to its previous state. Thank you.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
William
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Review 20 for Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love this formula!
Date:October 14, 2014
Tags: summer, primer, spf
One of my favorite sunscreens/face primers I own! Lightweight and colorless, it doesn't leave that heavy, greasy, chalky tint behind like some sunscreens do! Helps makeup wear great in hot weather.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
JustMarkie
Location: Fairoaks
1-20 of 130 reviews