Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush

Average Customer Rating:
4.136 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Review 1 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Killer quality and softness! But.....
Date:December 6, 2011
Tags: Blending, Contouring, All over application, Highlighting, cream blush, primer, softer blending, any thinner fluid
For me, this lil' baby was just not firm enough to blend my foundation out.
I use Studio Fix Fluid in NC15 and since it has a thicker formula anyways, this softer brush made it so difficult to really blend it in and it ends up looking too thick for me. Plus, even though I only do 1 section at a time, the stuff would just dry too fast before I could finish it.
I do love this for a lightly applying cream blush and a light wash of primer.
Its also perfect for contouring and adding soft highlights.
The ways of usage are endless!
The quality is superior to most other prestige brushes I have tried.
I did not experience much shedding upon first few washes and there was no dye. It really is an awesome brush!
Just because it didn't work for me doesn't mean it wont for you. There are many great reviews for this being used with liquid foundation. Its just my way did not work for me.
MAC brushes will last a lifetime, if taken care of properly. They will actually save you money in the long run. I mean those 5-10 dollar bills do add up, when trying to find that perfect dupe out there.
IMO,these are our tools....just like the tools with the lifetime guarantee from the mall, that my hubby and most men collect for their quality. These are quality and will do the job right every single time. ;)
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
MrsLeonidas
Location: INDY
Review 2 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best brush
Date:March 10, 2014
Tags: Contouring, Blending
This is one of my best purchases from MAC, it's really worth the price. I use it for contouring my face and really blends perfectly. I really recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Nana1976
Location: Mex
Review 3 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:August 22, 2011
Tags: Blending, All over application, cremeblend blush
I bought this because of the reviews and I was thinking, oh wow this must be perfect for liquid foundation, setting powders. my mousse foundation, and creme blend blushes. yeah, I was wrong. This is a great brush for creme blush since it is small but I find it is not stiff enough to actually get a great finnish. That is why I exchanged it for the 187, which I love much better for foundation and such. I would have kept the 188 for blush but I already have a 168 so I don't really need another blush brush since I'm 13. But other than that this is an okay brush, but if your looking for a flawless and much faster to use brush, get the 187 because nothing can compare.
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
ShaOh
Review 4 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Works well, but hairs EVERYWHERE
Date:November 21, 2013
Tags: All over application
It applies my liquid foundation very well and actually makes my foundation look air brushed, but I always have at least 4 little black hairs on my face after. It's a bit annoying since I have used MAC brushes without this problem. I wash this brush regularly and I always have black hairs left in my sink. It's a good brush, but the hairs falling out makes it a bit annoying to use.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Rissa
Location: Michigan
Review 5 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Daily wearers of liquid foundation...
Date:August 29, 2010
Tags: Highlighting, Blending, liquid foundation or powdered highlight
This brush's flexible bristles make it perfect for blending liquid foundation all over the face. To sheer out heavy-looking foundation, spritz a bit of water onto the tip of the brush, and blend. It is not, unfortunately, useful for applying cream blush as the texture of MAC cream blush is too dense and viscous to be easily blended/applied. It can, however, be used to highlight areas of the face such as the cheekbones (when used with a powder highlighter).
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
banhbaocheeks
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Review 6 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Awesome brush
Date:August 27, 2012
Tags: Contouring, All over application, Highlighting, Blending, everything
This brush can be used for applying foundation, blush, highlighting, contouring and almost everything...I just love it...i gives a lot of precision where required and an air-brushed effect to the make-up. I use it a lot...am sure you'll love it
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
NIKO
Location: India
Review 7 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Nice blending ability but oh god the hairs!
Date:February 19, 2013
Tags: Blending, All over application, liquid foundation application, airbrushed effect, precision application
I recently bought this brush today over the 187 brush because a MAC cosmetician told me that albeit it took a lot longer to apply foundation, it had better precision because "it was easier to get around places like the nose". She was definitely right about that - I was able to apply foundation smoothly even in the crevices behind my nostrils. However, this brush has an extremely bad problem with bristles falling out as even ON THE FIRST DAY it was leaving flyaways all over my face.
Aside from the bristle problem, this brush is excellent for blending and applying liquid foundation. When used properly (a statement that should be bolded), it can create an airbrushed effect that many women aspire to create. Moreover, it is not too harsh on the skin as the bristles are soft and flexible. A must have for anyone who won't mind the occasional loose bristle on your cheek. Which, in my opinion, is a small price to pay for excellent looking skin.
I haven't used this to apply anything other than foundation but I imagine it would work just as well.
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
MercedesV
Location: Scarborough
Review 8 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Meh...
Date:March 4, 2014
Tags: Highlighting
The extended synthetic fibers on the brush make it feathery. I had hoped to use it to apply foundation or concealer but it wasn't compact/firm enough to get the look I was going for. Ended up returning it. Would probably be good for highlighting, however I have other brushes I could also use for that.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
TaniMN
Location: Saint Paul
Review 9 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:July 9, 2012
Tags: Contouring, All over application, Highlighting, Blending
Great for individuals with a smaller face or in need of a more directional brush than the 187. Does all that the 187 does, but is also great for liquid, cream, or powder highlighting and contouring due to its smaller size.
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Daniel89
Location: Long island, ny
Review 10 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love for application of moisturizer
Date:March 27, 2013
Tags: All over application
MAC rep recommended this brush to apply moisturizer and she is right. It works so much better and faster than finger tips. I would have given it a 5 for performance but I agree with all the comments about shedding!!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
PStrick
Location: Goodville, PA
Review 11 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
I Love It!
Date:September 1, 2010
Tags: All over application, liquid foundation
This Brush Is My One And Only Brush (So Far(: I'm New To MAC Cosmetics, But I Am LOVING Them! Saving My Money For More!!!) But AnyWhooo, I Absolutley LOVEE This Brush! Perfect For Liquid Foundation....What Else COULD You Need In A Brush?!?
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
MACAlicious
Location: Salem OR
Review 12 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Great for Moisturizer
Date:December 23, 2012
Tags: All over application
I use this brush to apply my moisturizer and foundation primer. My only complaint is that the bristles fall off A LOT. I just get disappointed when this happens because the quality should be a lot better for the price. Also, be careful when washing this one, I had to replace my other one, because I was washing it and pulled a bit too hard when drying and ALL the bristles came out of the casing!!!! Not good!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
MollyH924
Review 13 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
AMAZING!
Date:November 9, 2012
Tags: All over application, blush
I LOVE THIS BRUSH! It works perfectly for putting on blush! A must have tool for anyone's make-up kit!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Cocobear
Location: CA
Review 14 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
A Godsend!
Date:August 20, 2012
Tags: All over application
I am in love with this brush. I use it with Matchmaster foundation and it makes it look airbrushed. People ask me how I get my skin to look so good. In reality, it's the brush!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
KittyBeth
Location: NYC
Review 15 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:March 13, 2012
Wish I could return it. Sheds way too much and its a pain to get all the black brush hair out of my face.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
choca
Review 16 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Hate it
Date:December 29, 2010
I purchased this brush along with the Studio Sculpt foundation. I bought it because I heard it was so wonderful to apply foundation with and really gave a "flawless" look. Um, not the case. SHEDS LIKE CRAZY. Also, it does NOT blend well - my face looks blotchy and uneven after I use it. I have used it with numerous foundations, with different primers, different moisturizers...nothing. Hate it. I never use it anymore, so it was a waste of $34.00 for me. I would not recommend this.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
rebnae
Location: California
Review 17 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great for blending - love it!
Date:March 1, 2011
Tags: Blending, All over application
I use this brush with Studio Fix and Studio Tech foundations. It's great for eliminating brush marks giving a smooth "airbrushed" look. It's also good at blending under-eye concealer with the rest of my cheek/face. One drawback is the initial shedding. Granted this was while using Studio Tech foundation, so maybe a thicker product and a new brush = normal shedding? Regardless, it's fantastic.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
kycali
Review 18 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love it
Date:November 7, 2011
Tags: Blending, Highlighting
One of my absolute favorite brushes! Always leaves a beautiful flawless finish.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Mmmm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Review 19 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Good Brush
Date:September 26, 2012
Tags: Blending, Contouring
Its a good brush that picks up color very well.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
JustMilly
Location: NYC
Review 20 for 188 Small Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
WONDERFUL
Date:March 5, 2011
Tags: Blending
This is my everyday foundation brush, i absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE it. The only fault i have with it is the little hairs fall off it . Other then alll that i love this brush i recommend it for anyone who wants flawless skin, & another thing thats amazing is it works with powder & foundation. So PURCHASE IT. (:
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Angelina
Location: San Bernardino
1-20 of 22 reviews