Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Technakohl Liner

Average Customer Rating:
4.451 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Technakohl Liner
Review 1 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Breaks off all the time
Date:September 30, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, Long wearing
Submitted this review before but Mac screened it out - hopefully it'll come through this time. I have had this eyeliner in graphblack for a month. I've used it 5-6 times. The first time, the tip broke off right away. Then another time, it broke off twice before I could use it. That discouraged me from using it (I have another eyeliner as well) but today I tried to use it and the tip broke off again. I am not at all new to using retractable eyeliners, so I was not using too much force or stretching it out too much - just enough! I initially purchased this hoping to save money since it's half the price of eyeliners from luxury brands - but if I used this I'd end up having to spend even more money on replacements since it breaks all the time! It does look good and dark when it goes on and it doesn't fade more than any other eyeliner - but it's not practical because of breakage.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
makeupthecat
Location: Taiwan
Review 2 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
MAC's Technokohl - the only one for me!
Date:November 4, 2013
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color, getting just the right eyeline.
MAC's Technokohl is the ONLY eyeliner for me! Every other eyeliner that I wear smears and I end up looking like a raccoon, but I found this a few years ago and now this is all I wear. It stays in place, can do a thin line or a thick one, and always looks just perfect. I try to keep one in my makeup bag and a back up and to order one as soon as my open one runs out. I tell all my friends about it and that this is the best eyeliner out there.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Jacqui
Location: Denver, CO
Review 3 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
FINALLY!!!
Date:August 5, 2013
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Long wearing
Well I finally found it!! The perfect eyeliner for my color eyes. I am 64 and felt I needed to start wearing liner to accent my eyes more (never did before). I have blue-grey eyes and had great difficulty in finding the right shade. Black.........no, brown...........no, navy..........no, grey.............no, nothing seemed to enhance the color of my eyes, until now. After 2-3 years of experimenting with different colors, I finally found the perfect shade. I bought Auto-De-Blu on the fact that it was advertised as a grey/blue shade. I received it today and when I opened the package I thought, "here we go again! Too dark!" But I was wrong, it is perfect. Not too dark or too light, definitely noticeable but not overwhelming. I LOVE IT!!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Cher
Location: Jersey Shore
Review 4 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
stays put
Date:February 2, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing
I was looking for an eyeliner that would stay on my upper and lower water lines, and this did the job. It went on smooth and not slippery. I was out all day and the eyeliner didn't budge or smudge even when I put in eye drops.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Kris26
Location: Atlanta, GA
Review 5 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
LOVE IT!!!!
Date:October 18, 2010
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, watery eyes
My eyes water terribly. I dealt with eye liners coming off for years until I googled the problem and read an online forum. They recommended MAC so I tried it. I will never use anything else. For the first time in years my eyeliner stays on all day. The clerk recommended I apply the paint pot eye shawdow over my entire lid first and then my eye shadow and, lastly, the eyeliner. The paint pot eye shadow acts as a "glue" and holds everything on. I only use MAC on my eyes now!
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Kelley
Location: Tennessee
Review 6 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
59 years
Date:March 15, 2012
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color
I am 59 years old. We have cold winters and muggy summers. For some reason eye makeup disappears or ends up under my eyes. I have tried the majority of the eyeliners on the market and the MAC Technakohl liner outlasts them all in every weather condition.
Wonderful, wonderful product
+10points
12of 14found this review helpful.
Michele
Location: Kentucky
Review 7 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:April 17, 2014
Tags: Long wearing
I like this liner for my upper eyelid, but it did not stay in my waterline at all. It also does not have quite the color payoff I was hoping for. I got this in black, and it isn't very bold at all. It does have great staying power on the upper eyelid and it does a great job for thinner liner looks. I did not find this to be soft and creamy as described, I'm wondering if maybe I got an old one? Bottom line, it's a good upper lid liner, convenient for travel, and I will use it for that purpose.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
VeraLynn
Location: New Jersey
Review 8 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LOVE IT!
Date:June 13, 2011
Tags: Waterproof, Bold Color, Long wearing, waterprook
so i have been looking for a waterproof eyeliner for FOREVER! i put this on and after i run and sweat and like cry or whatever it stays on forever! i dont worry about looking like a racoon anymore! this thing is my life!!!!!!!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
jelly
Location: san diego
Review 9 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
DRIED OUT QUICKLY! WASTE OF MONEY
Date:April 14, 2014
Tags: Bold Color
I purchased this thinking it would be great but, instead it didn't last long. I think I only used it 3 times and the 4 times went to go use it & it would not reapply (realizing somehow it DRIED out completely. I will not purchase this one again.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
PaulaMakeUpAddict
Location: Indiana
Review 10 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great Liner!!
Date:April 15, 2014
Tags: Smudgeable, Long wearing, lining top and bottom lash lines
Love this liner.. I have the Purple Dash. great color.. not too dark ..just right. Stays on true.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Menville
Location: Louisiana
Review 11 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Favorite everyday liner
Date:January 3, 2014
This is honestly the best liner for an everyday look, stays all day and isn't too bold for the day time, I now have 4 different colors. Perfect for a more natural look, highly recommended.
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Amber88
Location: Vt
Review 12 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Fantastic!
Date:January 16, 2012
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color, great pigment, tightlining, brows, natural looks, lower lashline
I love this product! probably one of my fav mac products. This liner is great for lining the lid for a subtle look and will stay all day. Or it is great to blend out with your shadow. It glides on so well and the colour pigment is fantastic. The only thing is i bought the brown border shade and it does not look good on the waterline but it does on the lower lashline. Hope this helped!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
MacIsMyName
Location: Canada
Review 13 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Really Great liner!
Date:August 23, 2011
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Bold Color, summer days
I have this in Auto-de-blu, which is a really rich teal when you apply it straight on. I normally like to smudge it a little bit, which turns it into a little bit of an aqua color. It looks really cute for going out with friends or a summer day! I wear it quite often and constantly get compliments. My only complaint is that it fades after a couple hours :(
Otherwise it's great! (also waterproof... got me through the notebook without running or anything!)
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Mollybird
Location: Atlanta
Review 14 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
My Only Liner!
Date:August 10, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Long wearing
I have been through many different eyeliners but this is by far my favorite. It stays on great and doesn't smudge. It may fade after a while but you won't end up with raccoon eyes.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
AkaRyu
Location: San Diego
Review 15 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
The best
Date:December 19, 2013
Tags: everything
Its the best I am in love,all i have to say is say bye bye to the black racon eyes it's one of the best eyeliner and eyeliner is the only makeup I wear it makes your eyes pop
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Charrrrr
Location: Los Angeles
Review 16 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
good for water line
Date:March 19, 2011
Tags: Waterproof, waterline dark circles
When I got my first one (graphblack) I didnt like it as much as it was difficult to get a fine sharp line. But after testing the kohls and pencils , I ended up with another one (brownborder) and the product does grow on you and is great for every day use.
Pros:
- totally non irritating
- safe to use in the water line and lower lash line.
- decent color pay off
- does not smudge much ( a bit runny after a few hours) and stays in place for most part (so does not enhance my dark circles !)
- no need to sharpen
Cons:
- the brownborder (being the lighter color ?) does not last too long and needs touch ups.
- hard to get a fine sharp line as it cannot be sharpened.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
indianheidi
Location: San Francisco
Review 17 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Easy to use
Date:April 2, 2013
Tags: Waterproof, Bold Color, Smudgeable, Long wearing, everyday
Eyeliner is difficult for me to use, mainly because I don't want to tug on my eye, or too much of it ends up on my lid, ruining the makeup all together, but I don't have a problem with this one. I like the fact you can "twist" it, so you have a controlled amount of how much eyeliner you're applying. I've tried the black eyeliner and I loved it. it was bold, not overpowering, and since it's twistable, I achieved my desired look.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Applesauce
Location: VA
Review 18 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
vibrant eyes
Date:January 11, 2011
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color
I've never had a liner that lined my inner eyelid rim so very well. It actually stayed in place all day, which meant dark dramatic eyes from 9am-7pm. It was a little smeared and runny after no touch ups by the end of my day.
You get the good with the bad. I'm not 100% sure if I'll buy this product again, but that doesn't mean I'm not going to enjoy the gorgeous eyes it gives me now. :)
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
kmkz
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Review 19 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Amazing!!
Date:September 17, 2010
Tags: Waterproof, Bold Color, Smudgeable, Long wearing, all your eye-lining needs!
I was a little skeptical because of a video review I saw on YouTube of this product. I've heard everyone rant and rave about the eye kohl in smolder, but I wanted to try a Mac twist-up eyeliner. Absolutely fantastic. Lasts me from 7am until midnight or later and doesn't budge. It lasts through my gymnastics training and watery eyes! Will re-purchase!!! :)
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Kaulitzified
Location: USA
Review 20 for Technakohl Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
In love with this liner!
Date:November 17, 2010
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color
This eyeliner (I use graphblack) is the best I have ever used. It is the blackest black and I personally use it on my tight line. It stays all day long and does not cause any irritation at all. Highly recommeded...leaving this review while I am online ordering more!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
leberryhill
Location: colorado
1-20 of 71 reviews