Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Liquidlast Liner

Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (209 reviews)
5 stars
162
4 stars
26
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews for Liquidlast Liner
Review 1 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Lifeguard #1
Date:March 8, 2013
Tags: Waterproof, Bold Color, Long wearing, beach days, lifeguards, long nights out, when you need reaaaally black liner
Out of every MAC product this is probably my top product to write about. The one bad thing about this product is that MAC used to have a whole line of colors in this liner, but they discontinued all of them except this black. I titled this Lifeguard for a reason. I have spent my last 5 summers lifeguarding as well as teaching kids swimming. THIS IS THE ONLY EYELINER I HAVE EVER FOUND TO BE TOTALLY SWIM PROOF. I have gone hours in the pool with this eyeliner and it is the ONLY PRODUCT I HAVE EVER FOUND LIKE IT (and trust me I've looked everywhere) If you want to go to the beach, swim all day and not reapply eyeliner-even after showering off, this is the only product you can depend on. I have spent six hours in a pool getting splashed, going under water and rubbing water out of my eyes, and then gone out straight after without even touching up. This is a MUST for anyone who wants to wear a long lasting ALMOST EVERYTHING PROOF liner. My only problem is none of my other makeup products are quite as water proof so face makeup, mascara and everything else tend to need reapplying. PS to remove slightly oily makeup removers work best. Also if you can't find it in a store, they usually don't have testers out for some reason. Just ask someone who is helping you because they probably have it in a drawer
+63points
66of 69found this review helpful.
sweetiekiki
Location: Queens, NY
Review 2 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The ONLY liner my daughter will use....
Date:August 16, 2013
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, long-lasted; easy to apply; rich in color
Although I personally don't use this product, I feel that I must rate it based on the fact that this is the ONLY eye liner my 21-year-old daughter can or will use. She started using MAC's Liquidlast Liner about 5 years ago; at that time, it was available in quite a few shades - not just black; she used the black, navy blue, and green shades, I believe. Then, about 3 years ago or so, MAC stopped production on the additional shades; only continued to produce it in black. So, my daughter & I started a search for something that she could substitute for the times she likes to wear navy blue or green shades. Honestly, I think I spent close to $150-$200 - she tried every other MAC liner; plus, I think just about every other liner out there in almost every cosmetic line. NOTHING stood up to MAC's Liquidlast Liner. So, what is it about this eye liner? According to my daughter, it is the ONLY liner that she's found that literally lasts ALL day; does NOT flake at all; does not rub off at all; is easy to apply and easy to remove with make-up remover. I should have invested in MAC stock, I think, when I calculate how much I've probably spent over the years just on this liner! Thank goodness for MAC's recycle program!
+71points
75of 79found this review helpful.
persia0417
Location: Lahaina, Maui, Hawaii
Review 3 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
The only eyeliner I trust
Date:December 9, 2013
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color
I have very oily skin, to the point that ANY eyeliner (pencil or liquid) that states "waterproof" or "long-lasting" seems to be a lie because I end up looking like a raccoon after 4+ hours of it on my eyes.
But MAC's liquidlast liner is one that is incomparable to ANY eyeliner (pencil or liquid). I trust only this eyeliner to last me 15+ hours daily, even after I wash my face (it still stays!).
I've tried countless numbers of other eyeliners (paid a lot of money for the cheap ones and expensive ones) but this is the only eyeliner that stay and comes on smooth. It does not flake or smudge. I can't tell you how much this has eased my mind because I don't need to look in the mirror every few hours to check if I look like a raccoon.
+57points
58of 59found this review helpful.
PeaceE
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Review 4 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
DOES. NOT. BUDGE. EVER.
Date:February 17, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, staying power!!
This is exactly what I was looking for. Something that I can wear while playing sports and not have it smudge or run on me. It is a little hard to get off at night, but with the right makeup remover you will be fine.
BUY THIS PRODUCT!!! You will not regret it!
+29points
29of 29found this review helpful.
DoxyImp
Location: DoxyImp
Review 5 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Must have for women who work long hours!
Date:November 29, 2013
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing
I seriously don't know what I would do without this product. I work for a professional sports team and on game days I'm at the office for 14-16 straight hours. I feel naked without a cat-eye on my upper lid, but no liquid liner I tried would stay on anywhere near that long; they'd always smudge and disappear and just look so awful. I finally went to the MAC counter and asked for help; they recommended the LiquidLast liner to me and it was life-changing. Forget 14-16 hours; I could literally keep it on for days and it would look exactly the same as it did when I first put it on. It does. Not. Budge. It's such a relief never having to worry about my makeup running everywhere or constantly reapplying. I refuse to even try any other product because I know it won't compare to this. It's perfect. Could not recommend it more.
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
MCrech
Review 6 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
BEST...EYELINER... EVER!!
Date:September 30, 2012
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color
I've used so many different types of eyeliners since this is the only makeup I use. This eyeliner truly lives up to all expectations of being waterproof, smudgeproof and flake proof. I agree with the other reviewers that it is hard to apply. A beginner should not use this as you will be frustrated with the brush. As an eyeliner veteran the brush is not a problem at all. As others have pointed out, it is hard to remove! BUT all you need is baby oil and a cotton pad and it comes right off! Also you can use a Q-tip with a bit of baby oil to correct any mishaps. :) I'm so happy to see this eyeliner back on the website since I've been buying out all the stores after hearing they were discontinuing it.
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
tmama
Review 7 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
WILL NOT COME OFF
Date:February 3, 2015
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing
I bought this liner because I was looking for a new eye liner to use. I was so excited when I got it in the mail I had to instantly put it on as soon as I got it, little did I know this bad boy does not come off no matter what you do and use. I took a shower, I use two brands of make up remover, lotion and last but not least olive oil and this liner didn't even smudge. Finally after scrubbing it for a good 10 minutes it finally came off. The over all quality was good, when I put it on it dried matted and was beautiful but it defiantly not an every day thing. SOOO if you're looking for an eye liner that last probably days I highly recommend this
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Megggs
Location: Texas
Review 8 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
bring back the colors!
Date:December 8, 2013
Tags: everyday
Best ever liner! Please bring back the colors for 2014. This is the only liner I use and would like something more exotic than black.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
phoenixgirl
Location: Chicago
Review 9 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Almost perfect!
Date:January 24, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color
I love this liner! How dark it is and how long it lasts. My only downfall with this is the brush, which creates a shaky application. :/
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Myoli
Review 10 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
The Best Waterproof Eyeliner!
Date:May 24, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color
I've searched for years for the best eyeliner out there that wouldn't smudge. I can honestly say I've tried more than 50 different types of "waterproof" eyeliners out there, from really expensive brands to your simple store-bought makeup. For a while I was giving up and thought my oily skin was contributing to the smudging. By midday I'd find myself wiping away eyeliner that was smudged at the corner of my eyes. It was the most frustrating thing that I know other people noticed.
I found this eyeliner on MAC's site and read the reviews. I was a little skeptical but after reading the review from the lifeguard who used it in the pool, I decided to try it out!
I WILL NEVER USE ANOTHER EYELINER AGAIN. I mean, this product is just fantastic. I've cried with this eyeliner on after eating a jalapeno (as a joke), and there was no smudging! I've pushed this stuff to the limits for experimental purposes - at the beach, at the pool, in humid conditions, while working out, etc. etc. It's just wonderful and I highly recommend this stuff!
I hope this is one of those products that is never discontinued!
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
KaylaRae
Location: Texas
Review 11 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Best Liner but need color options
Date:January 6, 2015
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color, long wear, waterproof liner
This is by far the best liner anywhere! My only complaint is that BLACK is the only color option. I am using it regardless of the fact that it is too dark for me because of how well it wears. You can swim, shower, cry, sweat and sleep and this liner will stay put with no signs of smudging or flaking off. It is the only liner that I have found that is truly waterproof.. I just wish they would bring back the other colors that they used to offer.I have spent lots of money trying to find another liner in BROWN that wears like this one with no success. After reading many of these reviews, I see that I am not alone. MAC people-PLEASE bring back the other colors of your Liquid last Eyeliner!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
wantmorecolors
Location: Ohio
Review 12 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
Being discontinued...
Date:December 4, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color
I've been wearing eyeliner for almost 15 years and I have religiously started to use this one 5 years ago when I tried it. I have serious issues with getting raccoon eyes with other eyeliners (and I've tried both cheap and expensive kinds - even other MAC eyeliners), but this is the ONLY ONE that doesn't smudge or run. I became a devotee once I wore it playing sports (sweat dripping, wind in my face) and it doesn't budge. It's not easy to take off, but some remover fixes the problem instantly. I thought my search for the perfect eyeliner was over, but now more than one MAC associate has told me that this eyeliner is being discontinued. MAC has made new eyeliners, but none has the same staying power as this one. MAC, please don't discontinue this product. I really can't afford spending another 10 years searching for its replacement. Also, this eyeliner is the only reason why I walk into your store or go up to the department store counters to begin with.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
MACshop3
Location: San Francisco, CA
Review 13 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Liquidlast only in Black?
Date:November 30, 2011
Tags: Waterproof, Bold Color, Smudgeable, Long wearing
I have oily skin, and the liquidlast eyeliner is the best for my lower lid. How upset I became when I discovered that MAC had re-formulated the liquid liner and only makes Liquidlast in black!!??? The new ones have great colors, but it WAY to watery!!! I do not like it at all! The new liners are like L'Oreal or Maybelline! I need the Liquidlast in colors again! Liquidlast is the best liquid liner on the market, especially for women with oily skin! For like the second time since I've been wearing MAC products, I'm upset with the company! Stop changing good stuff!
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Gena
Location: Chicago
Review 14 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
completely waterproof
Date:January 3, 2015
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing
The only truly waterproof liner I have ever used. Please, please make this in some other colors; brown, purple, blue...
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Hollygolightly
Location: Park City, Utah
Review 15 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Super-longlasting, great for beginners like me
Date:May 6, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color, designs, everyday wear, when you can't reapply
This was my first eyeliner. It is absolutely AMAZING how long it lasts, and it can be taken off with an oil-free makeup remover. I literally put it on cat-eye style in the morning, wore it all day, took an hour long bike ride, swam in the pool, took a really long shower, and did not even have to reapply before going to an opera that night. I was scared at first to use a dip in bottle with a brush as my first eyeliner, but it really was not hard to use at all. I bought it in December and the bottle has lasted and not dried out yet in May. The only thing is that if you want to create a reallllyy thick design, it will transfer. You can either wait for it to dry, seal it with eye shadow or go for a thinner design.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Caera
Location: Florida
Review 16 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
THE BEST EYELINER EVER!
Date:November 15, 2011
Tags: Waterproof, Bold Color, Smudgeable, Long wearing, perfect long lasting liner for every look!
I was first sold on M-A-C by the quality and wide selection of shades of lipstick, but this liner was the clincher! Wear it as a crisp classic cat eye, or smudge it for a kohl look.This liner goes on solid, then stays on perfect until you take it off (for 2 days or more if you don't remove it), AND it has a brush applicator, instead of the felt tips that you find every where now. I will never buy another brand of liquid liner again! Please never stop making it!
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
RedLipsSinkShips
Location: Oregon
Review 17 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Love it!
Date:March 17, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color
This eyeliner is my day and night holy grail liner. It is water proof and long lasting to the max! Through tears and long days on the beach your eyeliner will look amazing! The only thing stopping me from giving this eyeliner a 5 star rating is the fact that the brush should be tapered at the end. That way it wouldn't give such a wide line. If applied VERY carefully you can get a thin line, it's just not easy. But over all I'm sure I will repurchase and repurchase! Love. Love. Love.
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
Zoey
Review 18 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
THE BEST
Date:November 26, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, staying on against all odds!
I am 52 years old and out of a lifetime of searching, this is the ONLY liner I've ever found that stays on my eyes. I have super sensitive eyes that water sometimes - this eyeliner survives it all. MAC makes a special oil remover that works great to get it off, but any oily substance will work. My only complaint is that they used to offer this same liner in many beautiful colors that I loved - and now they only offer BORING black. I like to wear different colors, so it's really disappointing that they only offer black. PLEASE BRING BACK THE OTHER COLORS!!!! Especially "Tarnish" - I loved that color!!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Soozer
Location: Florida
Review 19 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Last the whole day!!
Date:December 8, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color
It is perfect for those women that have greasy eyelids and don't want to retouch their makeup 3 times a day. Amazing. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is because of the size, is too small.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Catclock
Location: Los Angeles
Review 20 for Liquidlast Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best Stay On Power Eyeliner Ever Found
Date:April 27, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing
Dear MAC,
Please bring back the colors in this amazing eyeliner, especially my favorite, INKSPILL, the dark green.
For anyone looking to try something new, this is the best stay on power eyeliner i have ever found. Will go 6am til midnight without fading, even for my oily eyelid area.
This eyeliner creates dramatic bold lines.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
CJDL
Location: Connecticut
1-20 of 207 reviews