Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15

Average Customer Rating:
4.349 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (324 reviews)
5 stars
206
4 stars
63
3 stars
27
2 stars
18
1 star
10
Customer Reviews for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Review 1 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Something Even I Can Wear
Date:December 3, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Oil control, Buildable, oily/combo skin, high maintenance skin, all skin tones
Until today, I never thought I would have a shot at looking good in foundation. I had basically given up on makeup. My face gets grossly oily within the first hour of wearing makeup on it. I could at least get away with eye shadow if I used a good primer, but it didn't look good on a shiny, shiny face! On top of that, I have never been able to find my shade with a drugstore brand. Either it was too light and made me look like I had a paler mask on in photos, or it was too dark and made me look silly. I'm mixed African/European/Native American/Asian, so I have sort of mocha skin with undertones I didn't understand.
Today, I decided to take a walk and passed by the mall, and decided to go in. I went to Macy's and finally sucked it up and went to the MAC counter. The girl I met there taught me things about my skin and showed me that even I can wear makeup and have it work for me! I'm now the proud wearer of Studio Fix Fluid in NC30 and I couldn't be happier. This stuff is lightweight, easy to apply, and lasts for hours with very minimal shine coming through, and just on my nose. I have a healthy skin care routine, but blemishes and imperfections and this stuff builds for amazing coverage that isn't cakey. With the Oil Control Lotion underneath and Skinfinish Natural on top, I am in love with makeup again, and can enjoy my eye shadow artistic outlet. Thank you, MAC, for making something even I can wear!
+128points
134of 140found this review helpful.
Rayvinn
Location: Oregon, USA
Review 2 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Date:March 11, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing, Buildable
I would definitely say I have a love/hate relationship with this foundation. I purchased it at the Mac store which I prefer doing because they will test it out and match your color versus just taking a guess and spending the money on something that may not be the right match (can't tell you how many times I have done that especially with drugstore products). We had a hard time matching me with the right shade because typically I am an NC20 however this particular foundation has a fairly strong yellow undertone and it looked ok at first but the more I looked at it in the mirror the more I was like holy cow my face is really yellow. So, I ended up purchase the C3.5 which I was lucky enough to have a shade that was close enough because they only have I believe 4 different shades in the "C" range which have less of a yellow tone to them. However, with that being said it is still not the perfect shade it is slightly too dark with a little bit of orange that I have to make sure i am very careful in making sure everything is blended. It does have very decent coverage, I would say it is a medium to full coverage foundation and it does wear fairly well throughout the day. I do not keep this foundation on all day because I do have very oily skin so by the end of the day my face just feels very heavy and cakey and well..just gross. I would definitely recommend this if you are someone who is looking for a very natural looking finish.
+16points
21of 26found this review helpful.
Laurengrace
Location: Chicago
Review 3 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Just wanted to counter the negative reviews.
Date:March 8, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Buildable
I noticed a few negative reviews here and I'm someone who reads reviews very carefully before buying things so when I saw the negative ones, I just had to add some balance. This is my absolute favorite foundation of all time. I went for 27 years (okay, yeah, the first 13 were not spent wearing makeup, but still!) being really indifferent about foundation. I was willing to try anything, not committed to any brand, finish, type, or anything. I didn't even have an idea of what I wanted from a foundation because I just thought powders mattify so it must be all about the powder. I was recommend this AND the powder foundation version of this. I got both. The one-step powder is good for lazy days and looks great, but this stuff makes me look fantastic. I get compliments on my complexion (which is actually kinda rough) and I look very even, smooth, and matte. This has EXCELLENT coverage. The best coverage of any foundation I've used without being too thick and cakey. My skin is oily, fair, with some discoloration, scars, blemishes, and large pores on my cheeks. This foundation does an excellent job making my face look nearly flawless. It's not especially great OR poor at minimizing pores--so far I've had to use a pore perfector with every foundation I've tried, but I don't find that taxing. This doesn't, in my experience, especially highlight or exacerbate any flaws. For most, it covers them and makes skin very uniform. The coverage, again, is perfect! I'm officially committed to this foundation.
+122points
131of 140found this review helpful.
Audriest
Review 4 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I LOVE THIS FOUNDATION!!
Date:May 24, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, everyone!!
I have used MAC products for awhile now except for foundation, up until about a week ago. I was afraid to invest in MAC foundation & it break my skin out, or it not last that long. I use foundation every single day!! Well, after reading reviews and going to my local MAC counter to try it out, I gave in and bought it!! Let me tell you, BEST DECISION EVER!!! I LOVE this Foundation!! It goes on soooooo smooth and easy & last ALLLL day!! I mean from 8-9am to midnight (w/ MAC press powder touch ups of course). I bought this foundation and my first day wearing it, my husband came home from work and looked at me and told me I had a glow!!! And he NEVER comments on my makeup b/c he rarely sees me w/o makeup on, so he's quite used to seeing me in makeup..LOL! Apparently, he saw something that looked better!! He also told me 2 days after that, that my face looked clearer! And it does!! This is all w/o even telling him I got new foundation! It has a very nice Matte finish, which is what I like. But, I also use MAC Iriidenscent Powder, on my cheek bones, just for a small glow!! AND, i do not have to use a lot to get a LOT of coverage! I have awful skin...meaning, I have brown spots and get zits in my chin area almost daily...and this covers my mess up w/o looking chunky or cakey!! My face looks amazing!! Ladies, do not wait!! Go get this product NOW!! Oh, and purchase the pump for $6! Makes it a LOT easier to get the product out of the lovely glass bottle!! ENJOY!!! =)
+73points
80of 87found this review helpful.
Andi26
Location: Fairfield, OH
Review 5 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
I finally found my new foundation!!!
Date:October 2, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, oily skin, lasting long hours (mine lasted 14 hrs!!), flawless finish
I use to use the prolong wear in NC 42 which ended up being too light, then I started using the NC 45 which ended up being a little too orangy. So I decided to mix them 1 pump each. Everyone said it looked wonderful but to me, it was still a bit off... too light. My friend told me to check out the studio fix fluid, I didn't want to at first because I even though I couldn't find my right shade I loved the prolong wear because of the 15 hour wear and shine control. I can get pretty oily. Well, I ended up trying the studio fix fluid in NC 44 and what do you know my perfect shade! I know it says it's suppose to last up to 8 hours but I tried it for the first time yesterday, put it on at 11am, when to my son's football game (stayed outside in the hooooot son for 4 hours), and didn't take it out until 1 am. And let me tell you, I did not have to touch up once, i didn't get oily, it didn't look shiny, and my make up didn't run at all! WOW!! That was 14 hours!! Sooooo, I guess I found the one I'm sticking with. I set it with the mineralized skinfinish natural in medium dark and it was beautiful. Now everyone sees the difference, they said I look flawless and very natural. Two pumps hid all of my flaws (dark spots). I'm tempted to try it with the blot powder since I read wonderful reviews with that as well. I hope I helped someone out, thanks for reading...
+16points
19of 22found this review helpful.
Shal
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Review 6 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
favourite foundation
Date:April 20, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable
I bought this foundation on a bit of a whim back in June and was totally blown away! I've tried tons of foundations from many different brands of all rankings, but this one is my absolute favourite. I have an incredibly pale complexion, with combination skin, therefore finding it nearly impossible to find a foundation that is light enough, doesn't cake on my dry patches, and lasts long. Studio Fix Fluid is the best match yet, and lasts all day, even in humid weather and incredulous wear. I bought this product in NW10, and alternate between setting it with a light dusting of Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation (in NW10) or a translucent loose powder. It blends in beautifully and never cakes, and an added bonus, it has never broken me out despite having sensitive, acne prone skin! The product lasted me very long, and I will most definitely be repurchasing.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
hobbit
Location: Ontario, Canada
Review 7 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
One of the best liquid foundations!
Date:July 27, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable
This foundation is one of the best I've ever used. I have dry skin and this provides just enough hydration. If you use a non-MAC concealer under this foundation, it will make the Studio Fix melt off. But with or without any concealer, it works just fine. It minimizes my huge pores and evens out redness so my face is all one color. It is also buildable so I can wear it lightly everyday and build to full coverage in the evening. Topped off with MAC's Prep + Prime pressed powder, this rarely needs any touching up! I recommend applying this foundation with a stipple brush. Highly recommended for beginning makeup wearers and those who have used a ton of different brands.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
RaeNR
Location: Albuquerque
Review 8 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Amazing!
Date:November 30, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Full Coverage, even application
I have been loving the MAC Matchmaster foundation for the past few months, but I wanted to branch out and try something new. I have a pretty oily T-zone, and have had trouble keeping my skin matte all day. This foundation is perfect for me! It blends smoothly and evenly into the skin and is full-coverage without that cakey look. Just a little bit of product goes a long way. It hides all my pores, acne, and redness (which I have a lot of), completely. With primer and setting spray, it lasts literally all day and looks absolutely flawless. It is also the most mattifying face product I have ever used. I sat in a 120˚F sauna for 15 minutes today and my face still looked perfect: no oiliness or streaking whatsoever!! My one complaint is that unlike almost every single other liquid foundation MAC sells, it doesn't come with a built-in pump, meaning I had to spend $9 extra to get one. The pump really does help disperse it evenly without making a mess, and I wish MAC would give it one. However, this foundation is incredible and I will most definitly be repurchasing :) Thanks MAC!
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Grace507
Location: Boston, MA
Review 9 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Good Foundation
Date:March 21, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, non-cakey
I have combination/oily skin and I think this foundation helps control the oil without it being a drying heavy foundation. I've used the "mineral" makeup from other companies and BB creams before and I find this to be my favorite. I have acne prone skin as well and have not found this foundation to break me out. It goes on really well with the foundation brush 190. I'm fair skinned and use shared NC20. I use it with the prep and prime radiance in pink shade and the prep and prime finishing powder too. If you find that you're really oily, put a little of the prep and prime powder on before your foundation just in the spots where you get the most oil.
+12points
15of 18found this review helpful.
eMACw
Location: Virginia
Review 10 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Not Great
Date:October 13, 2012
Tags: Buildable
Having tried many many different foundations but never fully satisfied I felt I had found a miracle worker in the Select SPF Foundation NC50. Having used my last drop a little while ago I was shocked when I went to the make up counter and was told it had been discontinued ( as seems to be the case with so many products I have become attached to). I was advised to go for the Studio Fix, and was given a sampler to take away and try. I have to say having tried the Studio Fix I was extremely disappointed. The equivalent shade to the Select SPF foundation is way to dark,it looks OK on when first applied then gradually gets really dark, though I put a very small amount on my brush it looked very heavy and caked on. I have to say I looked like a totally different person. My skin felt tight and not able to breath, unlike the Select SPF which brightened my face the Studio Fix made my skin look dull. I really don't understand why the Select SPF was discontinued, and replaced with something non comparable. I like my makeup light and natural and the Select gave me that, I always got compliments every time I wore it. I only used the Studio Fix once and I won't be using it again. Since reading the reviews I think I'm going to try the Pro LongWear and see how that measures up, hopefully I'll have a more complimentary review to write about it next time I share my thoughts.
+4points
12of 20found this review helpful.
Anthea
Location: UK
Review 11 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Best full coverage foundation!
Date:March 14, 2013
Tags: Moisturizing, Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable, coverage
This product is great for full coverage. It is easily applied and sets flawlessly. I have tried everything out there and would say this is the best foundation in the market. This is also the best foundation available at MAC. I have used 2 other formulas, which have been difficult to get full coveraged with and ends up oily by the end of the day. If you have oily skin, blemishes or acne scarring I would suggest this foudnation.
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
hbear
Location: Denver CO
Review 12 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best foundation I have found
Date:January 11, 2014
I'm very oily and gave big pores so far this is the best foundation I have found and cannot live without it!! Just gives me a flawless finish love it!
+11points
13of 15found this review helpful.
GlamDoll85
Location: Pomona
Review 13 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
Bittersweet!
Date:May 12, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Buildable
Ahhhh this frustrates me! This foundation has the best coverage and nicest finish i've ever seen. However, it causes me to breakout terribly. I've purchased it 3 different times and it ruined my skin everytime :( I do have extremely sensitive skin though...if you don't have sensitive skin, i highly highly recommend this foundation!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
SarahNicole
Location: Canada
Review 14 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
I've finally found "THE ONE."
Date:October 20, 2013
Tags: Moisturizing, Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable, combo/oily type skin
I was always kind of sketchy when it came to MAC products, it being mainly used for studio/professional makeup, it just sounded like it would't be a foundation for an everyday use, especially being that I have sensitive, acne prone, and combination skin, but I gave in and decided to try it anyways. They recommended Studio Fix Fluid, for my skin type.
As soon as I put it on, I fell in love with it! It glided smoothly onto my face, it gave me the perfect amount of coverage I wanted, and the finish was just beautiful. You can't even tell I have combination skin because of it's oil control, while also moisturizing the dry areas of my face. Over time, I've learned to love it more:
I like that it feels very light on my face. It lasts a long time, I can wear it through a thunder storm and it would stick to my face. The actual bottle of foundation lasts me about 5 months, a little goes a long way. My skin is acne prone, and every other foundation has broken me out, with MAC Studio Fix Fluid, I have had little to no break-outs, that's a huge plus.
The ONLY thing I don't like, is that it is super pricey! About thirty dollars for a little bottle of liquid foundation. It breaks my wallet whenever it's time to restock, but I guess it's quality over quantity. Also, being that I'm fair skinned, it tends to be hard to find the perfect shade, it's either too light toned, or too orange toned. But, there's ways around it.
Overall, I definitely recommend this product, especially for us combo/oily girls. It's perfect for our skin type. It's buildable coverage and again, long lasting, it will not slide/wipe off, oily face or not. I think I've said more than enough. If you haven't already tried it, you're missing out!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
BrittanyLV
Review 15 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Sticky foundation
Date:January 17, 2014
I found the foundation to have a strong scent. The foundation looked shiny and felt sticky so I has to wear powder over it to tone it down. After that it looked flawless. Endured cardio workouts!'
+9points
12of 15found this review helpful.
Bougie1
Location: Houston
Review 16 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Not worth the money.
Date:June 16, 2014
I have extremely oily skin and I also live in an extremely humid part of Florida. My face becomes shiny after an hour of wearing this and It's a pain to use more powder to get rid of the shine. I end up looking gross by the end of the day. It has terrible coverage for my skin. I have redness and some scars but when I get small breakouts it has almost no effect at all on any of my imperfections. I also have very very large pores due to my oily skin and it does nothing to make them appear smaller. The only good thing about this product is that it matches my ghostly pale skin tone. I'm Asian and have yellow undertones and this foundation matches very well. But that is not enough to make me buy again.
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
JulieNoelle
Location: Tampa, Florida
Review 17 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Excellent cover, light as a feather!
Date:August 13, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, oily skin, medium but natural looking covering - no caking!, youthful appearance
Love this foundation! I wear it over the Prep + Prime Natural Radiance Yellow Base and the finish is flawless without being heavy. Looks really natural while covering well. I have oily skin and menopausal hot flashes and this is the ONLY foundation I've found that still looks and feels great at the end of the day. I'm happy to have found it!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
SusieSewAndSow
Location: Oakland, CA
Review 18 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Love it
Date:November 30, 2010
Tags: Moisturizing, Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable, special occasions parties everyday
This was the first MAC product I ever purchased. It took me 14 months to finish one bottle of this foundation since I used about a dime size amount everyday. I bought my second bottle on black friday:) This is the first foundation that I actually kept using for over 6months. I didn't break out using this foundation. You can use a very little amount and still get natural coverage. Some people complain about the flakiness they experience when they use this. I think it depends on if you just put it on bare skin or if you use a moisturizer or primer. I use a moisturizer underneath the foundation and it gives me a little bit of dewiness which is perfect. I double up the foundation on my dark circles for a more natural look. I can't complain about this foundation. I truly love it! Just ask the lady/guy at the place for help. Hope this review helps a little bit for beginners!
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
annnymous
Location: New York
Review 19 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
My favorite foundation
Date:February 27, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, making your skin look flawless
I started using this foundation years ago because it is the only foundation that unless it is custom blended doesn't turn me orange. It lasts all day and doesn't oxidize. If your wondering why you should buy such an expensive foundation try it once and you'll see. PS. If you have your color picked out at the store by the makeup artist make sure you step outside before you through down the money. The artists tend to pick colors for me that are too dark or are on the orangey side. I have olive undertones to my skin and for some reason the artists don't understand that olive skin tones turn orange. The NW20 doesn't do this to me.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
PHDENish
Location: Denver, CO
Review 20 for Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
holy mother of god
Date:August 1, 2014
Tags: acne scaring
so I've been wanting to try MAC for the longest until I finally just a few days ago went and bought this and they tried it out on me and I looked at the mirror and I felt like beyonce
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Luciani
Location: Houston
1-20 of 320 reviews