Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Pro Longwear Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
4.498 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (221 reviews)
5 stars
161
4 stars
35
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
10
Customer Reviews for Pro Longwear Foundation
Review 1 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Flawless!
Date:December 23, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Oil control, Buildable, medium to full coverage, combination/oily skin, everyday wear
I have previously used the Studio Fix powder & liquid foundation and wanted to give the Pro Longwear a try. I love it! Just like the Studio Fix, it controls my super oilly skin! I love the coverage of this foundation and how long it lasts! Now since I do have oily skin, I do pair it with the Studio Fix pressed powder just for an absolute flawless and matte complexion. I will say the only bummer was trying to get color matched to this foundation. Its not available in the same variety of colors as the Studio Fix but after a little trial and error, I was able to find the right color suitable for my extremely yellow undertones on my dark skin
+44points
46of 48found this review helpful.
KreyatifBee
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Review 2 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best Foundation!!
Date:March 22, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable
I have no complaints about this foundation. Out of my collection of 7 foundations THIS particular one is my most prized and posessed. The lasting power of this product is completely phenomenal. Due to my busy schedule I will sometimes have to wear it for 9+ hours with minimal blotting. It really allows for all of my other products (ex. blush, bronzer, highlighter, etc) to stay in place. I have normal to combination skin with regular oil in my t-zone area and I just love how this foundation looks. Although it can be very matte looking when you first apply it I do enjoy that it still allows for some shine/glow to peak through as you've worn it for a few hours. I have told all of my friends about this foundation. I also like that it photographs well although it contains SPF. I have seen other foundation make me look ghostly in photos due to the SPF. I definitely recommend this foundation for people with oily skin..
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
ivela4
Location: Houston, TX
Review 3 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My Experience,Opinions & Tips
Date:January 13, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, natural look, not fake looking, everyday, work, school, Waterproof, no powder needed, long day
Out of all MAC foundations I was most eager to try this! I 1st bought this foundation (after being match) in NC25. I had a bad experience because it was the wrong shade. I have recently rediscovered this foundation, and I love it! I DO NOT need to completely set this foundation at all! The foundation dries down to a Natural Matte finish. All I need to do is use a transparent powder around my eyes & corners of my nose to prevent creasing & caking. Also my nose does get oily throughout the day & the foundation DOES NOT slip off! I've even taken long naps with this foundation, woke up looking the same! lol. Theres rumors of this foundation "running dark", but the NC20 in this foundation suits me better than the Studio Fix Fluid
ONE TIP: If you have dry skin mix a tiny bit of your moisturizer with the foundation so later on in your day it doesn't feel tight on your face, & also prime your face (not around your eyes because it'll create to much moisture)
-Just make sure you find the Right Shade. And Prep your face Correctly
HOPE I HELPED. TRY IT OUT! (IT'S CALLED "PRO LONGWEAR" FOR A REASON)
..... Almost forgot, I accidentally got my face wet with water and NOTHING CAME OFF! The foundation also does not transfer after drying.
+102points
103of 104found this review helpful.
MACBabyGirl
Location: Space
Review 4 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Awsome
Date:January 31, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, oily staying power
I will start by saying I was skeptical. I usually am with new make up. I am pretty picky, I like to look like I am not wearing much but cover my face and it to still be there after the morning is over. I went to a MAC counter and it was pretty busy that day, the lady who did my make up she was nice but in a hurry, so she put this make up on me and told me I needed to wear concealer too. ( I was a bit surprised by that I am 30 and have no bags or dark circles under my eyes at all) but I thought what the heck if you are going to do it put it on and then I can decide if I liked it. I did. She put the make up on thicker than I do but still the color was awsome. It was thick when I first tried it myself but still I thought give it a chance, see what happens. I apply the concealer and the make up I don't use much but it covers ALL DAY. I worked out in it ( I am very fair skin nw20 and I turn tomato red when I exercise) it showed the redness through No big deal for me but then the make up was still there didn't get sweated off. I am impressed to say the least. I wear it everyday, and at night I have to wash it off with Soap and water or else it will still be there when I wake up. This is perfect for me. I don't like to carry my make up with me everywhere I go to touch up I didn't have to with this make up. So Awsome!
+43points
43of 43found this review helpful.
Djjn4
Location: illinois
Review 5 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
A tried and true flawless foundation!
Date:April 30, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control
Let me tell you as a teenager, I am constantly bombarded with different foundations and I have tried them all! Their is not a single one more pigmented, withstanding, comfortable, and better looking than this one! The one little slip up is that it usually applies best while using your fingers, that way you can blend it with your skin. I usually buffer it across my skin. I don't use any brushes because it can look very heavy and painted on unless you use your fingers. Also using proper skin cleansing after wearing this foundations is CRUCIAL. It is a very withstanding foundation, and your usual soap and water does not go deep enough to erase it. I usually combine the Cleanse off oil, soap, and hot water to fully erase it! Make sure to exfoliate after your basic wash down to fully get down in your pores! I also use the MAC makeup wipes afterwards to get off my eye makeup and refresh my skin since the wipes really calm and refresh my skin!! I have used this foundation for a year and a half and I will never find anything better! It is incredible.
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Mctransie
Review 6 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
It's Nice
Date:October 7, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Buildable, startersnatural sheer
I just got this foudation. It was actually my first ever foudation and I went to the Mac Store so they can help me find the perfect shade.
I went to one in Brooklyn, New York. and I went on the look for foudation and concealer. I already knew what I wanted, doing my reserch on the pro long wear. Since it was my first ever foudation I want something nautral and sheer. . Pro Long Wear is perfect for just that .. When I went in the girls there are helpful they sit you down and apply make up to help you see and understand..But when I told her I wanted the pro long wear. Im guessing she wasnt a fan of it. . Beacause she kind of stepped back and said "why"? as if she was surprised and she told me that it was a heavy foudation, which I personaly didnt feel that it was heavy at all. I quite like it actually. . and its a buildable foudation which is good. .
Then there the fact that a lot of girls dont like it because it smells like paint. Which I dont find the be that big of a problem beacuse you only smell it when you freshly apply it and when you apply it around your nose. . other then that I like this, I think its a great foudation to start out with and other thing. My mom pumped some on her hand and kinda smiled. . and I asked why are you smiling and she said "You call this a foudation? . . it feels like my concealer" and I actually like that fact. . keep in mind its SHEER but BUILDABLE
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Alica
Location: Brooklyn,New York
Review 7 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
what you see is what you get
Date:January 29, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, Buildable
first i have to say im very impressed with this foundation. im a very acne prone, athletic/active, combination skinned girl and living in the humid southeast, not many foundations have done me any justice. this one is the only exception! i apply this in a stippling manner that way i can build up a near flawless look. i use this over a primer and moisturizer and after an 1 1/2 hour workout/volleyball session in the morning, 6 hours of school, and a 2 hour soccer practice, my foundation still looks and feels fine. all i need is a touch of powder now and then throughout the day due to sweating. I AM IN LOVE. ths foundation can be any girls best friend.
+71points
71of 71found this review helpful.
kaytay
Location: GA
Review 8 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Hit or Miss...
Date:September 26, 2010
Tags: Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable, normal to oily skin types and nearly clear skin
Coverage: For those blessed with nearly clear skin, this foundation gives the "perfect skin" look. Very little product is needed to cover the entire area of the face. Use a 188 brush to blend and cover the face. For those with blemishes to cover, this foundation may not provide adequate coverage -- a blemish or spot concealer may need to be used beforehand. Short drying/setting time. A setting powder is still needed to set the foundation which may cause it to cake and/or look heavier.
Skin type: Best for normal to oily wearers since the formula clings to skin to provide extended wear. Dry skin types may find dryness is accentuated with this product -- try mixing a bit of your usual facial moisturizer to combat dryness. However, mixing will dilute pigmentation and create a more sheer look. Setting powder will further worsen the matter and may cause skin to seem even drier and unnatural.
Shade: A bit lighter than other foundation types in the same shade, be sure to try the foundation on and walk out into daylight to color-match.
Overall: Provides enough coverage for a "flawless" skin look, but not sheer enough for a "no make-up make-up" look. May cause drying. Strikes a good balance between everyday and special occasion wear. Adequate to good pigmentation and budge-proof. Had hoped for a perfect camera-ready foundation due to its low SPF, but still causes a bit of white glare when photographed. Better formula than most other MAC foundation formulas -- a predicted favorite for normal to oily skin types. Use the sheerest setting/foundation powder available to avoid a caked-on/heavy look.
+16points
17of 18found this review helpful.
banhbaocheeks
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Review 9 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
omg!
Date:February 13, 2011
Tags: Long wearing
After trying 3 other types of foundation (tinted moisturizer, studio tech, and select) I finally found the perfect shade, finish, and coverage. When they say 15 hour wear, they mean it. I wore mine all day- even took a 2 hour nap (rolling around in the bed) and when I woke up, still looked good. Just needed a little powder on top of my concealer. This is just perfect.
+28points
28of 28found this review helpful.
CDAEFDA
Review 10 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Terrible!
Date:December 2, 2013
Tags: a plastic look
Well, I purchased this product in February 2013. I went to a local Macys and got the make up consultant to do my face up. I wanted to invest in some good quality foundation. She asked me what I was looking for my make up to do. I told her I wanted to cover my problems areas. I guess I should have rephrased and said "I want natural looking coverage for my acne prone skin, while promoting healthy skin." I would soon learn that make up consultants are just that, NOT dermatologists. But anyway, I went on wearing this for about 8 months. My skin got worst and worst. I had breakouts galore. It may sound stupid but I didn't think it was because of the make up. I guess I just thought too highly of such a company and maybe even the consultant's advice. I have stopped using this make up and surprisingly NO BREAK OUTS! Not to mention I am African American and this just made my skin look gray. My skin looks better without this particular make up and that doesn't say much because I don't have the best skin. But I'm working on it and its looking better, no thanks to Pro-long Foundation. I DO NOT recommend this to anyone.
+1point
23of 45found this review helpful.
prettygirl
Location: va
Review 11 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Difficult to handle
Date:November 27, 2012
Tags: Buildable, use as tinted moisturizer for limited time
This clings to dry patches and cakes on thick if used without a good moisturizer first. I use a dollop of moisturizer and immediately rub in the foundation, which gives a nice sheer glowy finish. A little too dewy, so I add a powder on top to calm the shine. This method wears off after about 4-6 hours. I'm a SAHM so no big deal for me, however if you work 9-5 this may not be your fave. Then there's another issue--I wore this every day for 3 days in a row, washing my face as usual morning and night. The second day my pores looked huge because they were so clogged with makeup. The third day I got blackheads and pimples, a total breakout, cheeks, chin, nose, forehead, jawline. Everywhere. At least a dozen pimples and countless blackheads. I'm 27 and have dry skin, and occasionally may get 2-3 pimples on my chin when I'm PMSing. This breakout was ridiculous. I ended up stopping all foundation, concealer, blush, and powder for 2 weeks, I went on the popular teen brand benzoyl peroxide cleanser set to help clean my pores out, and a month later my skin is just now clearing up, although it is drier than ever because of all the exfoliating and retinoid treatments I had to do. I can only recommend this product for special occasions and even then I would not leave this on my skin for more than 2-3 hours at a time. MAC has great eyeshadows, but for other products I will be using another brand.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
RaeRae
Location: VA
Review 12 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love this foundation
Date:April 10, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, oily /combination skn
I love this foundation. I normally do not write reviews but I had to write one. This foundation provides great natural coverage. I have an oily t-zone at 47 but, with this foundation I'm not oily!!! I'm so happy. I normally wear studio fluid in nw47 but in prolong I'm a nc 50 and I love how my skin looks. The prolong really lasts all day. I'm so glad the make up artists at century 21 store in New York City recommend this color for me. I love it. If anyone in doubt and has oily skin please try this foundation.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
MM47
Location: Bronx, New York
Review 13 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Date:March 27, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Buildable
I've worn two of MAC's foundations, Studio Fix and Studio Tech. They both have their pros and cons, with the biggest being transfer for me. I have combination skin and decided to try the Pro Longwear formula. I use a primer before I apply any foundation, however I still have oil breakthrough which contributes to transfer. I am NW43. It is super important to use a duo fiber brush to achieve a flawless, smooth finish. It dries matte but I still set with powder. I still have oil breakthrough but the finish remains smooth. I am very pleased with this product. I've gotten several compliments on my look since I've worn it in the past week.
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Adryane
Location: Atlanta, GA
Review 14 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Disappointed
Date:January 17, 2014
Tags: dry skin
This foundation made me look very greasy and I had to frequently apply powder to tone down the shine.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Bougie1
Location: Houston
Review 15 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Finally... my HG foundation.
Date:December 5, 2010
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable
I thought I found the best foundation when I discovered Studio Fix Fluid, but I was curious about this foundation and read a lot of good reveiws on it soooo, I tried it. And oh my God, it's the BEST foundation. First off all, the packaging is amazing. It actually comes with a pump and I don't have to buy a $6 pump! As for the actual foundation, I'm just in love. The foundation is medium to buildable coverage and leaves a finish not too matte but not insanly dewy. It looks really natural. I have REALLY oily skin and with this foundation I only have to touch-up twice, when I used to have to touch-up four or five times, and I literally can swipe a tissue across my cheek and hardly anything comes off. I used to worry about hugging people and my foundation coming off, but not anymore. It seriosuly stays in it's place and doesn't rub off. And another great thing, no creases! It doesn't settle into my smile lines like Studio Fix did. This foundation is seriosuly the best thing I've used and I won't be changing for a loooong time. I'd recommend this for anyone!
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Andrew
Location: Albany, NY
Review 16 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Pro Longwear Foundation
Date:January 9, 2014
Tags: oily skin
This really changed my opinion of liquid foundation. I have really oily skin but this gave me a very matte finish, especially if you pair it with Studio Fix Powder Plus. I highly recommend this.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Kourt
Location: Florida
Review 17 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Absolutely LOVE!
Date:May 24, 2012
Tags: Moisturizing, Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable, oily skin, those who need coverage, long-day guys and gals
This foundation has the perfect balance of everything. I can't speak for those with dry skin, but I feel like this would work amazing for the dry-skinned MAC fans, as well as the oily ones (such as myself). Oil still manages to break through during the day, but the easiest fixer for me personally is to apply a blotting sheet and then apply Studio Fix powder wherever I need fixing!
The coverage on this is beautiful. It's really hard to look cakey with this foundation, and it doesn't feel heavy on the skin at all. I'm wearing it right now, and it doesn't feel like I have anything on. I lightly dust Mineralize Skinfinish Natural over the powder to set it, and that's enough to give the foundation even MORE long-wearing capability. The coverage is Medium-Full, just like the website says. It isn't a medium that's closer to sheer, it's a medium that's closer to full. It can hide so many imperfections that sometimes I forget acne was even there until I remove my makeup at the end of the day.
I wear this in conjunction with Pro Longwear concealer (Both are NC20), and it will literally last FOREVER, especially under my eyes. I work out by taking Zumba classes, and I'm actually a Zumba instructor as well. After doing THREE HOURS of intense cardio exercise, the only makeup that I find missing is right near my temples, where sweat excretes the most. (NOTE: I also prime my skin with Prep + Prime Face Protect.)
Definitely a beautiful product, I give it two thumbs up! Thank you MAC!♥
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: Rochester, NY
Review 18 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
NW47!!
Date:September 29, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable
I think MAC has finally done it. I wanted to like this foundation and I am mostly NC50 or NW45 on occasion. Unfortunately, the NC50 and NW45 (even mixed) in this formulation did not work. Alas, when the extension shades were released, I tried the NW47....PERFECTION! Note: I cannot use NW47 in Studio Fix fluid as it is darker than my skin tone but NW47 in Pro Longwear this seems to work for me. The foundation is everything that others have mentioned, ie., oil controlling, medium coverage. I am happy with NW47 and recommend to other WOC who struggled with the shades if you are between NC50 and NW45 to try the NW47.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
CocoStar
Location: Washington, DC
Review 19 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
best longwearing oil control foundation
Date:October 8, 2010
Tags: Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable, oily skin
this is my first review for anything.i usually just read what others have to say,but this time i had to discuss this fabulous foundation.i have very oily skin that oils up and feels like an oil slick when i apply makeup.my skin is also blemished/uneven .this foundation has excellent coverage which is comparable to studio fix fluid. but unlike the studio fix fluid on my skin,it looks fresh hours later.i have never been able to work all day and not reapply makeup ,nor look in the mirror and not get so disgusted at the greasy face that i see.i used to use studio fix fluid but will now be true to pro long wear.
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
lynn
Location: baton rouge
Review 20 for Pro Longwear Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
use just a small amount
Date:April 10, 2014
Tags: Buildable, dark spots
this is good stuff it hides dark spots .works well
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
cuttie
Location: fairburn
1-20 of 221 reviews