Product Reviews

MAC Superslick Liquid Eye Liner

Average Customer Rating:
3.552 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
9
Customer Reviews for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Review 1 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Totally flakes off everywhere
Date:March 5, 2011
Tags: people who do not have oily lids
To start off, I want to say that I never write reviews b/c I don't like to take the time to do them. I felt like I had to write a review about this product, b/c I was so completely disappointed. I'm a huge Mac fan, and have been consistently buying Mac for the past 20 years. This is the first time I've really hated a product. Applying the liner was fine, and the color looked great. However, the liner ends up flaking to pieces all over the upper and lower lids. The first time this happened, I thought it was a fluke. But it has happened every time, and happens quickly after applying.
Some reviewers seem to like this product, so I'm wondering if it flakes on me b/c I tend to have oily lids? Has this happened to anyone else with oily skin/lids???
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
kittycrafter
Location: Illinois
Review 2 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Save your money
Date:March 13, 2012
Tags: patient people who want to keep fussing with makeu
Product is not consistant with results it promises.
I wanted an eyeliner that was percise, thin to put into my lash line. I was sold this in every promise that it would deliver, this is what u will find.
The "ink" or eyeliner is so thin that its runny. Very hard to work with. Many times I've the pulled the applicator out the bottle and i have not only a mess on the counter but its all over my hands because of how thin the liner is.
Also I have found that u have to work with this products a lot to get the results u want. Seems like sometimes theres to much other times not enough.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
J3marti5
Location: Clinton Twp
Review 3 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Quick, easy lining
Date:August 13, 2011
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Lining
A must for those who have busy schedules, this liner will not budge once dry unless you take it off. The colors are beautiful, the 'dip-stick' applicator is idiot-proof, and it can make a thin, delicate line or a thick line for a bold statement.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
MODOWD
Location: Rogers, AR
Review 4 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Liquid Liner
Date:September 28, 2010
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, first time liquid liner users
This is my first liquid liner and I love it! It was easy to apply. I wore it in August during my mom's wedding during which we experienced very warm and rainy weather. This liner stayed put all day. It was easy to do a thicker or thinner line. I love this product.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
MzSJanine
Location: Virginia
Review 5 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love Superslick. experiemented with another brand
Date:January 12, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, doesn't dry out, lasts forever
I've been using this eye liner for years and the blue color is my favorite. It's the perfect shade that makes my green eyes pop. It lasts forever and doesn't dry out quickly like a lot of other liquid eyeliners. My only issue with it and this is minor, is that it could be easier to use, to control if it were shaped more like a pen. I know MAC makes one shaped like a pen, but it's too dry for me. So I've learned to get pretty good at the Superslick eyeliner over the years, although some days I still make a mess. I was in the hospital in 2012 and made my mom run downtown to buy me more ( it was my birthday). I have a couple other shades and have tried other liquid eyeliners, but they're not the same. I ran out out of my blue one this fall and was improvising with black until I had time to do a massive cosmetics shopping trip. Sadly the only time I could go was on a Saturday and MAC was packed. I wandered off to a nearby beauty megastore, which I needed to visit anyway. They had a huge case of " their favorite liquid eyeliners" at the front of the store. I tried them all. Only a few brands came in blue as well as black. The shades of blue didn't seem quite right and many of the samples seemed to be drying out. Finally I found a brand that I liked. The shade of blue was pretty, and it wasn't too dry. It cost ten dollars more than the MAC eyeliner, but I didn't want to go back and wait in line. When I got the new eyeliner home and tested it out on my eyes, it was okay but not great. It felt really dry compared to Superslick and the blue just wasn't as perfect. Needless to say, I had hoped it would be easier to use since it was shaped like a pen but not so much. It's going back to the store. And I'm buying my favorite eyeliner online ( no lines, no crowds). I think I've been using it since 2009. My experiment with another brand was not worth the price and( is not worth the) hassle of having to return the item. Wish I had stuck with MAC in the first place.
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
faithNoMore
Review 6 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
FLAKY FLAKY FLAKY.....
Date:October 17, 2011
I was extremely disappointed with this product. I was looking for a waterproof eyeliner and got flakes, it doesn't stay on. and also it has too much shine to it .. not worth the money spent..
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Esha
Review 7 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:March 2, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color
This is a great liquid liner that's very easy to apply. It makes a smooth line, fine or bold, but definitely don't try to smudge it--it isn't meant to do that. It will transfer to your upper lids when it's wet, but if you wait a few moments it will set and once it's dry it doesn't move for anything.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Kuuipo
Review 8 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Lovely Liquid Liner
Date:October 23, 2010
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color, day & night
I got 3 colors (Desires & Devices, Defiantly Feline, & Smokey Heir) & love them all. The brush makes it easy to control the thickness of the line. The formula goes on smoothly and lasts all day and night. And the colors are rich. I love this stuff and want more!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
lilinah
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Review 9 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
meh
Date:August 8, 2012
Tags: Bold Color
I was advised to get this instead of my all time favorite Liquidlast Liner. Have to say compared to Liquidlast this was a disappointment, the formula was more watery and not as creamy. Pigmentation was great though but as i have rather oily monolids, i found it would only leave a vague impression if i were to wet my face and through the day it definitely faded even with primer. Easy application, more easy than liquidlast as the sponge tip is pointy and stiff. All in all not going to buy again, going to have to buy liquidlast liner online from here on out or switch to Lush's eyeliners. I feel if you have double eyelids and are looking for an easy liquid application to get this product - otherwise stick to liquidlast.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Dani95
Location: Nevada
Review 10 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Best Liquid Liner Ever!!
Date:February 27, 2012
Tags: Bold Color, Long wearing, long wearing liner consistent application, does not smear even in humidity goes on even, and removes easily when ready to take off, also very easy to apply great applicator
This is the best Eye Liner I have ever used liquid or otherwise and I have tried them all from the most expensive to the least expensive. This liner goes on extremely easily and evenly. It doesn't smudge and it has great staying power even in humid conditions and will not smear! The comments I saw on here where some1 said they had trouble with the lid and with the product caking up around the lid making it hard to close; I haven't had alot of trouble with this because: I take care when removing and putting the applicator back in not to leave excess product on the outside where the lid screws on and it can get up in the cap a little and cake up if there's excess product leftover ; so I always take a cutip and clean the lid and outside before screwing back on or a rolled up kleenex and swirl around in the top of the lid will work as well and prevent this problem and protect your product from drying up and problems with the lid coming off and on cracking etc. Also shake the product up at least couple times a week to keep it consistent because it is water based. It is easy to remove when you are ready to remove it , but stays on all day!! Well!! Best Ive ever used!! Wasn't a fan of liquid liner until using this 1
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: GA
Review 11 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Awful
Date:May 19, 2011
Tags: crusting
According to the sales person in the MAC store on 5th ave, they no longer had the original eyeliner that I usually get (the black Liquidlast Liner). So I decided to try out another one of their liquid eyeliners. It should have added up when she had told me that MAC had *changed the formula for the liquid eyeliners.*
The brush, I have to admit, is pretty neat and easy to use. However, the liquid formula itself is GOD AWFUL. It crusts within a few minutes of application. It's 10x WORSE when I try to remove it. It comes off in chunks (I don't even know how to describe it). It's a messy clean up process with this formula :(
This is the first time I registered for a website so I can review (warn) people of a product!
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
sickfitjaw
Location: NYC
Review 12 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Love
Date:December 28, 2013
Tags: basic eyeliner
I absolutely adore this eyeliner. The felt tip allows for a really nice application, and the description isn't lying when it says it dries in 15 seconds. I use this at a minimum of three times a week. I'll definitely keep buying.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
AlexandraMcC
Review 13 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Best there is :]
Date:September 4, 2010
Tags: Waterproof, Bold Color, Long wearing
I am also a liner fiend and I'd just like to first say... these ARE permanant. They debuted with the FF collection but they are here to stay :].
The day these liners came to my MAC counter, I swatched 7 out of the 9 colors available. Honestly, 9 out of 10 times, I washed my hand forgetting they were there. They lasted. I took a hot shower. They lasted. Seriously, when they say waterproof, they're really not kidding. If took a good 5 min for me to rub the swatches off with makeup remover and some baby oil. The colors rub off in flakes so be careful not to let anything fall into your eyes. The brush is also very sturdy. You can easily make thin or thick lines. The color payoff is terrific. Also, after it dries, there is a very nice sheen to the color. Nothing sparkly or glittery, just "glowy" lol.
Overall, I'm impressed. Far more impressed than I would've imagined.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
a0312
Location: Virginia
Review 14 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Sleek , Sophisticated, & Well Formulated!
Date:August 30, 2010
Tags: eyeshadow base and defining the upper eyelid
So, I am a liner fiend...only the best liners...I am stuck up about liners...I like Black Track fluidline the most from MAC. These should be permanent...they are well formulated, they don't crease or dry crunchy, and are smooth. You can smudge em out good and rock them as an eyeshadow base, and they would make the MAC shadows pop and look glossy, or worn to define, and they feel like you are appliying water to your eyelids, they are refreshing and sleek. Such a nice felt tip pen applicator, and great color selection, even though I spent so much money on the rest of the Fabulous Feline collecition I had to try the Defiantly Feline shade, it is rich and a great chocolate brown, I will be going back for Nocturnal, and more shades...should be permanent...
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
cosmeticcouturier
Location: California
Review 15 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Flakes out !!!
Date:December 12, 2013
i thought this product would be incredible like most of the m.a.c products but this totally flakes out. I would totally prefer the fluidline gel thann this.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Pchoppa
Review 16 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The ultimate best!
Date:September 24, 2010
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color, everyone!
I absolutely love love love this liner!! Stays on forever! Wore it out in 90+ degree weather amd took a shower and it was still on!!! You definitely need an oil based make-up remover to take it off. I bought "Pure show" and "Nocturnal" and now I just want to collect them all! <3
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Ladyrose
Location: PA
Review 17 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Defiantly feline
Date:March 19, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color
Love this color. Quick drying; never a line on upper lids. Goes where you put it but easy to reshape line if needed.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
MelB315
Review 18 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
LOVE THIS
Date:November 1, 2013
Tags: for u if u hate smudge
love how it doesn't smudge when applying or when removing! flaky which falls right off if I mess up & I love it. looks very slick & shiny! worth my money!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
breerobb
Location: abq
Review 19 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
eeehhhhhhh...
Date:October 2, 2013
Tags: Smudgeable
I'm not sure if it's my eyes, but the Superslick eyeliner in On the Hunt just didn't do it for me. I love MAC products, but this one is a bit iffy for me. Maybe I let it sit around for a while, because I had issues with the product consistency while i was applying it today. It just seemed off. Small sections on my eyelid were patchy from lack of color. It seemed fine when I used it before.
My only thing with the product in the past was that it smudged easily. Like I stated earlier, maybe it's my eyes, since my eyelids tend to get sweaty/oily and of course any eye makeup smudges off. Also, it comes off kind of chunky with remover. Sometimes it looked like I could peel the line right off my lids when removing it.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
purplediamonds
Location: LA
Review 20 for Superslick Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
I'll pass
Date:October 25, 2013
i don't like this liner at all...the only reason I gave it 2 stars is because I like the applicator brush. The liner is so thin, it's practically impossible to get a straight line and I feel like I am applying too much. It takes too long to completely dry and flakes throughout the course of the day. Absotively posilutely not worth the money!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
MissErinD
Location: Philly
1-20 of 58 reviews